We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Odinn was an amazing guide; great, small group tour”
Review of Iceland Horizon

Iceland Horizon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Operating only a few select daily scheduled tours which are always in small groups, Iceland Horizon is a small, family run tour operation with no intention of becoming a large bus company. Our philosophy has always been that you are travelling on a guided tour and the bus is just a means of transport, keeping the experience more personal, friendly and fun for both travellers and guides. We also arrange tours for groups wanting a private or individual arrangement.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Odinn was an amazing guide; great, small group tour”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

The tour was phenomenal. Our guide, Odinn, was incredibly responsive and informative. Given the small size of the group, we were able to adjust our schedule to accommodate the weather. We were also able to stop and interact with a small group of Icelandic horses... something you just can't do on one of the big tours!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank lo60435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,214
    88
    15
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotia, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I Left Wanting More....”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

My recent trip to Iceland culminated with a tour of the Golden Circle hosted by David of Iceland Horizon. David apologizes for speaking so much, but he is so full of knowledge of the country and he wants to share it with his guests...no complaints here. His stories weren't "canned" and you felt his pride of being a part of the Icelandic culture. David watches for the crowds and changed the order of destinations visited to minimize congestion with the other tour groups on the same route. The tour group was small and inviting. Iceland Horizon will be my first contact on my next trip to Iceland.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank K1SMET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Do this tour first”
Reviewed May 26, 2011

A great introduction to Iceland. David provides the perfect introduction to the country, not only the sights but an insight into the essence of the place. Entertaining and informative with the personal touch. He uses a minibus rather than a big coach, which has advantages in flexibility and avoiding the crowds, as far as this is possible for such a popular circuit. this will set you up for a great holiday in Iceland.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Merlyn29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really Amazing and Full of Surprises”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

David is the (only?) guide and he will pick you up in a smaller van with about 12 people. My fiance and I went on the Golden Cirlce and the Snaefellsness tours and they were both really great. The tour itself is on a smaller scale (in terms of people) and David is full of knowledge---geology, politics, economics--everything. He is also British. I only mention this b/c since it's mostly foreigners who go on the tours, he offers a great persepctive on the country and what it's all about. He also has a wicked sense of humor. he's a hilarious guy and incredibly easygoing. What I loved most about both tours is that there was a lot of opportunity for spontaneous stops along the way. I don't want to really give anything away, but each place we stopped at was very special and eye-opening. I would recommend the Snaefellsness if you could only choose one tour. Snaefellness (especially in May) has a lot less people and the area is incredible. It's a great opportunity to see a more rural and rugged Iceland. It was so beautiful and I would definitely go back and do it again. The prices are very decent, as well. Considering how much money you will be spending in Iceland...the tours were worth it. Thank you, David.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank queenchristina32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Golden Circle Tour - April 30th, 2011”
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We did the Golden Circle Tour on April 30th and we had a fantastic local guide through Iceland Horizon Tours - he was extremely knowledgeable and helpful with regards to giving advice for other attractions in Reykjevik. We spent a week in Iceland and this was the last of 4 other organized tours and by far it was the best overall and best value for your money - I would highly recommend.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnDPToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iceland Horizon also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Iceland Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing