We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geysir centre - good buffet lunch”

Gullfoss Geysir Direct Day Tour
Ranked #57 of 343 Tours in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gullfoss Geysir Direct Day Tour takes you to see the world-famous Geysir geothermal field and Gullfoss, the queen of Icelandic waterfalls.In one afternoon you spend your time encountering a cross-section of Iceland's natural wonders and geological phenomena.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Geysir centre - good buffet lunch”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We booked a buffet lunch and a visit to the Multimedia show at the Geysir centre. It cost about £16.00 for a hot buffet lunch with plenty of choices of meats and fish as well as salads. We also had hot mushroom soup as a starter and a choice of desserts. There were 22 of us in our party and we were well looked after and fully satisfied after the meal. The Multimedia show was very informative about Volcanos, earthquakes and geysers and took about 30 minutes to explore. There is an 'Icelandic explorers' room above which is not well signposted but quite interesting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 7Dave7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    44
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Pick up at your hotel, and drop you off 6 hours later. The Geysir was definitely cool. Just watching the steam coming from the earth in the are was amazing. There were 2 blowing off steam while we were there. The largest goes off approximately every 8-10 minutes. Time to catch it on video etc. While this was quite interesting the Gullfoss Falls, for me, was so much better. The sheer power of the water created from glacier melt off was incredible. i could have spent hours mesmerized by the beauty.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Syd169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Geyser is impressive”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We hired a car and went without a tour which was probably better. The Geysir is impressive but I wouldn´t bother paying the 6 Euros to go to the "museum" in the gift shop as it was disappointing to say the least. There wasn´t even any information on how the Geysirs errupt, it was too dark to read the information boards easily and some of the information boards were broken and hadn´t been replaced. It was also very tiny and just a tourist trap. It´s worth going to see the Geysir but be warned that the journey from any kind of civilisation is a long one. Without petrol stations or toilets :-)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ishy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Hire a car & do it yourself, it's free & you can take your time”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

A hire car from the airport for 3 days was £73 then the insurance at the airport was €23, to fill the car up for use the whole time was £44, this is less than it would cost for 2 people to go on the tour to Geysir & Gullfoss. The car came with snow tyres do it was very easy to handle. There is V little traffic & it's V easy to get around. it takes about 1:30hrs to get to Gullfoss, but stop on the way through the National Park. Then Geysir is amazing, no entrance fee, it goes off every couple of mins, there's a good gift shop & toilets across the road. Gullfoss is a lovely waterfall, it's like a baby Niagra. Again free to get in, the restaurant is good & the soup is lovely, you also get to go back for 2nds, so you can share it. On the way home I would recommend stopping off at Fontana Wellness Hotsprings, it's just off the main rd & sign posted. When we were there, there was only 2 other people, it's over looking a lake & it gets a lovely sunset. The Blue Lagoon is nice but very touristy, this place was V relaxing & a much better view. All in all, we spent the whole day out & about, the best part about doing it by car is obviously you can go at your own pace. Even if you do this a tour, it's well worth doing.

Helpful?
8 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not forthetravel sick!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We went on the half day tour involving 12:30 pick up from our accomodation. A lot of time was spent on the bus but the sights were well worth it! The time keeping wasn't too prompt and we arrived back 1 and 1/2hrs late meaning we were pushed for time for our northern lights excursion that evening (and fitting dinner in between) but the company were more than happy to drop you off wherever you wished.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gullfoss Geysir Direct Day Tour also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Blaskogabyggd, South Region
 

Been to Gullfoss Geysir Direct Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing