We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vidgelmir Lava Caves”

Reykjavik Excursions
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Reykjavik Excursions is the leading organizer of coach and bus tours in Iceland. A fully licensed tour operator and travel agent that offers day trips and guided tours, travelling all over the country since 1968. Our buses offer free wireless internet allowing you to share your experience right away.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

We had a great tour of the Lava Caves. The thermal pool was a waste of time but we found a new hotel adjacent with a bar and very pleasant staff. A bonus was the return trip to Reykjavik off the beaten path were the scenery was even more spectacular than visible or imaginable from the main road.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank 123texastraveler2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"the bus"
in 1,273 reviews
"blue lagoon"
in 1,142 reviews
"northern lights tour"
in 459 reviews
"golden circle tour"
in 758 reviews
"flybus service"
in 48 reviews
"fontana wellness"
in 52 reviews
"always on time"
in 172 reviews
"south shore adventure"
in 97 reviews
"bsi terminal"
in 60 reviews
"free wifi"
in 167 reviews
"tour guide"
in 287 reviews
"airport transfer"
in 162 reviews
"pick ups"
in 101 reviews
"national park"
in 140 reviews
"smaller bus"
in 65 reviews
"dropped off"
in 70 reviews
"gullfoss waterfall"
in 79 reviews
Filter

2,090 - 2,094 of 5,757 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2017

We did this tour our first full day in Iceland. I think it's the best tour to start with. Our guide was very knowledgeable and kind. You could tell he really cared about Iceland. Our first stop was the Friðheimar greenhouse, which we really enjoyed. It was very interesting and the tomato soup is amazing. Definitely worth it! I normally am always apprehensive over these types of stops but I really enjoyed it. Then we went to the geothermal area and saw the old Geysir (sadly doesn't erupt anymore) and Strokkur. That was a really cool experience! There's a lunch stop at the geothermal area. If you don't want the soups I would bring your own lunch, it's also expensive. Next we went to Gulfoss, which was breathtaking. Then we stopped at Thingvellir National Park (Þingvellir) which was also beautiful. Our guide really shined there. He had so much knowledge about this area and we really enjoyed the walk through the park. I think we had a good amount of time at each place, our group stuck to the schedule which was nice so we didn't have to rush really. This was a great tour!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Kristy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017

I was very happy to see the people in Iceland that they are all very helpful and accommodating. Sigurbergur@arkitektinn.is was very helpful to us when we missed our tour bus and we were very happy to have him as our tour bus guide as he explain everything while we were on our way to visit the sights. He even offer to drop us in our hotel to show us where to get our bus to go to the airport the following day. We would recommend him to other tourist. Thank you so much to Siggi for being so friendly to us to make us feel very welcome and enjoyed our adventure in Iceland.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank mildredpinkihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile

While in Iceland, I booked two tours with this company - Green Energy/Golden Circle and a Whale Watching trip (operated by Special Tours). Their communication is great (via email mostly but you can easily call and talk to a person with any questions). The drivers/tour guides were excellent and always right on time and professional (but also very laid back and fun). I also used their Flybus service to get to and from the airport. It was efficient and easy!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile

I booked a Golden Circle tour with a stop at Fontana hot springs and a Reykjavik tour through RE and was very happy with both tours. A shuttle picked me up at my hotel and took me to the bus terminal for the transfer to the tour bus, which dropped me off at the hotel after the tours. The guides were funny and personable. Would recommend this company for anyone who wants a hassle-free tour around Iceland.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reykjavik Excursions also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Reykjavik Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing