We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tour/terrible communication”

Reykjavik Excursions
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Flybus Round-Trip Shuttle from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik City Center
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Reykjavik Excursions is the leading organizer of coach and bus tours in Iceland. A fully licensed tour operator and travel agent that offers day trips and guided tours, travelling all over the country since 1968. Our buses offer free wireless internet allowing you to share your experience right away.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
143 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good tour/terrible communication”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were in Iceland because of a mechanics strike and had to spend a day and night near the airport. I wanted to do that anyway, so were positive about the experience.We booked a golden circle tour with RE because they would pick us up out at Keflavik. The tour itself was great. Our tour guide was knowledgable and we saw some neat stuff. However, the geyser stop is a pretty minimal attraction. Once you've been to Yellowstone or the thermal areas on New Zealand, this place was worth about 15 minutes. We were given a lot of time here to eat and shop.
Our big problem was in not understanding how their pickup and return service worked - was never explained. They did pick us up at Keflavik and then took us to downtown Reykjavik to a terminal where all kinds of buses came and went. We got on our tour bus easily and spent a pleasant day.
On the return to Reykjavik, they dropped off most all the tourists at their hotels in and around Reykjavik. They dumped us back at their terminal. We asked how we were supposed to get back to Keflavik and they looked at us like we weren't their problem. Finally, one person took pity on us and told us a bus would be going out to Keflavik in an hour and gave us a ticket for the six of us. So we cooled our heels in their waiting room with its plastic chairs and waited.
Before you book, get an explanation on your pickup and how you'll get home at the end.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank fiddlebike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikExcursions, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik Excursions, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear traveler,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
All the best,
Helga Bryndís
_________________________________
Helga Bryndís Jónsdóttir
Quality, Environmental & Safety Control
Reykjavik Excursions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,690
    834
    339
    225
    293
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, España
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very professional”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

They picked up us on time. The guide spoke fluent english and explained us interesting stories.
We went to Gulfoss, Geysir and Thingvellir. Excellent tour with awesome views. Don't forget your camera.

Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosCha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikExcursions, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik Excursions, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Carlos,
Thank you for your kind words.
All the best,
Helga Bryndís
_________________________________
Helga Bryndís Jónsdóttir
Quality, Environmental & Safety Control
Reykjavik Excursions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naestved, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A mixed experience”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Pick up service is great and the company have a wide range of tour offers.

We tried two tours but both times it was a mixed experience. Our booking said pickup outside our hotel but when the driver came and picked us up at the corner from the hotel, we were told that next time we should meet them at the next corner (appr. 100-200 meters from the hotel). That was a bit confusing and not a good way to start our trip. The transfer from the pick up bus to the actual tour bus was also a bit confusing and with a lack of guidance from the driver. The rest of the trip was good and the second driver was kind and smiled a lot.

The second time a young girl who was briefly visiting Reykjavik between flights sought advice from the driver but was rejected and told to find an information office instead. The tone seemed unnecessary hard, and we tried to help her. At the bus terminal they refused to help her with her return ticket, saying that she had to find her own way to the bus terminal because they only picked up passengers from hotels. Luckily the driver wispered to her that she could walk into any hotel and book the pick up. He was also kind enough to set her off at the habour so she could catch a whale watching boat - for me he saved the company's face. He was very kind and serviceminded.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaElviraDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikExcursions, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik Excursions, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Christina,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
It is important for us to receive both positive and negative remarks.
The positive ones encourage us to always try to do our utmost and continue to deliver the best customer service available at each time.
The "negative" ones help us to make amendments where needed.
All the best,
Helga Bryndís
_________________________________
Helga Bryndís Jónsdóttir
Quality, Environmental & Safety Control
Reykjavik Excursions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
“Reykjavik Evening Tour”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We booked the Evening Tour - Gullfoss, Geysir and Thingvellier privately online for our port time from a cruise stop in Reykjavik. Booking online was flawless and easy. We arranged a pick-up in town at a designated location and were dropped at the ship in the evening on time and happy. We had a great driver, a very knowledgeable guide, and we were amazed by Iceland and at all we got to see in the late evening summer daylight. We had one rainy day out of three. I was sad to have left my jacket and hat on the bus. The company went out of their way to identify, and then return the jacket to me in the US. So their service truly extended beyond my visit, which added a lot to my good feelings and great experience in Iceland. I would give them more than 5 stars if you would allow me!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank George Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikExcursions, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik Excursions, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear George,
Thank you for your kind words towards our tours and services.
Highly appreciated and encourages us to continue to do our utmost and deliver the best customer service available at each time.
All the best,
Helga Bryndís
_________________________________
Helga Bryndís Jónsdóttir
Quality, Environmental & Safety Control
Reykjavik Excursions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“FLYBUS - The way to go to/from Airport”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

There are better tour companies for sightseeing but FLYBUS operates frequent busses from Keflavik to Reykjavik and back (via Blue Lagoon, if you choose). The busses were always on hand and if you bought the upgrade package they would drop you at your hotel (buy the upgrade). The alternative was dropoff at a central bus station in the Stycks. If you are tired from a flight, you don't want the hassle.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TomCarolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikExcursions, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik Excursions, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello Tom,
Happy to read that you enjoyed your Flybus transfer with us.
All the best,
Helga Bryndís
_________________________________
Helga Bryndís Jónsdóttir
Quality, Environmental & Safety Control
Reykjavik Excursions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reykjavik Excursions also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Reykjavik Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing