We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended. Tours and transfers run like clockwork.”

Reykjavik Excursions
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.00*
and up
Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Golden Circle and Fontana Geothermal Spa Day Trip from Reykjavik
More Info
$22.00*
and up
Flybus Airport Shuttle between Keflavík Airport and Reykjavík City Center
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Reykjavik Excursions is the leading organizer of coach and bus tours in Iceland. A fully licensed tour operator and travel agent that offers day trips and guided tours, travelling all over the country since 1968. Our buses offer free wireless internet allowing you to share your experience right away.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We used Reykjavik Excursions for the following:

Flybus transfers to and from out hotel to Keflavic airport (this is very efficient, almost as good as a taxi but significantly cheaper!)

The Golden Circle Tour (Geysir, Gullfos waterfall, Þingvellir, and a geothermally heated hydroponic greenhouse) - The two food stops on this bit were too busy and had very long lines. Not really RE fault though.

A Whale watching trip (with Elding Whale Watching - we got too see Humpback Whales) - Beware this trip can be much longer than the time stated.

The Blue Lagoon

We had a Northern Lights tour booked too, but unfortunately the weather was not kind to us so it was cancelled.

All pick ups were on time (often using a minibus to transfer you to the coach), our tour guides friendly and knowledgeable, the coaches were driven well and comfortable.

You may have to swap your printed out itinerary for tickets at the bus station / airport, other times your printed out itinerary is accepted on the bus. we were very glad we were shown right onto the bus without having to pick up tickets in the ticket office as the line was going to be very long otherwise!

The hotels in Reykjavik seem to have a very good working relationship with this company and are very good at arranging trips and pick ups, also knowing when the trips are cancelled due to adverse weather.

This company is definitely my first choice when in Iceland now. They obviously a very well established company who know what they are doing and do it well.

Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikExcursions, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Philip,
Many thanks for your very kind words towards our tours, staff and services.
I will certainly pass this on within the company.
It encourages us to continue to do our utmost to deliver the best available customer service at each time to all our passengers. We have been on the road for over 40 years.
We will be more than happy to have you back on board one of our tours soon.
All the best,
Helga Bryndís
________________________________
Helga Bryndís Jónsdóttir
Quality, Environmental & Safety Control
Reykjavik Excursions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,217 - 3,221 of 3,988 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

We used Reykjavik excursions 5 times: Blue Lagoon & airport transfer, Take a walk on the ice side, Lava tour (horse riding), Northern Lights tour and for our transfer back to the airport. The bus was never late and it everything ran very smoothly. Bus drivers were polite and knowledgeable. Once they arrived a few minutes earlier than pick-up & had drove off without us so I rang up and within 10 minutes the driver was back to pick us up. I very highly recommend this company.

1  Thank nezzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikExcursions, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear traveler,
Thank you for your kind words towards our tours, staff and services.
I will pass this on within the cömpany - it is encouraging to receive such a good feedback.
Thank you again.
All the best,
Helga Bryndís
________________________________
Helga Bryndís Jónsdóttir
Quality, Environmental & Safety Control
Reykjavik Excursions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I highly recommend this lagoon.
Blue Lagoon offers clean showers and facilities. The water smells sulfurous, but is milky and very warm, so you know you are experiencing the real thing. I recommend rubbing the white mud over your face and body to exfoliate. Also, buy creams and soaps at the airport shop for great gifts for any women friends and family in your life.
Unfortunately, if you visit in winter, the air temp is 0 Celsius but the water is at body temperature. It's freezing once you leave the water.

Reykjavik Excursions is a very efficient and friendly operator of tours and shuttle buses.

Thank stwfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikExcursions, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear traveler,
Happy to see that you really enjoyed your Blue Lagoon experience.
It is quite unique and especially in wintertime.

Thank you for your kind words towards our company, Reykjavik Excursions.
It is encourages us to continue our good work.
We always try to do our utmost and deliver the best available customer service at each time.
All the best,
Helga Bryndís
________________________________
Helga Bryndís Jónsdóttir
Quality, Environmental & Safety Control
Reykjavik Excursions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We took the flybus from Keflavik airport to our hotel which was very easy, they transfer you onto minibuses which drop you off at your hotel and again used them on our return to the airport.

We took a couple of tours with Reyjavk excursions the northern lights tour on the 15th of February 2014 (coach number 6) was great the guide on the tour was very informative and yes we saw the lights which was a massive bonus!

We also took a tour to the Geysirs, Gullfoss waterfall and the Thingvellir national park and again the guide (Martha) was very informative.

This is a very well run company and we would definately use them again when we travel back to Iceland.

Thank you for some fantastic excursions.

1  Thank mjmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikExcursions, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear traveler,
Many thanks for sharing your pleasent experience with us.
It is very encouraging to receive such a good feedback.
Maybe you will join some other tours with us if you decide to return one day to Iceland.
All the best,
Helga Bryndís
________________________________
Helga Bryndís Jónsdóttir
Quality, Environmental & Safety Control
Reykjavik Excursions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had a wonderful day with Reykjavik Excursions to experience the Goldon Circle attractions. Our guide Sigríður was charming, funny and full of fascinating information about the beautiful landscape that we passed through. A lot has been written here about the attractions that you'll visit on the Golden Circle Tour - so there's no real need for me to go into it. Rest assured that you're in very safe hands with Reykjavik Excursions. The coach was modern, clean and very comfortable. We were picked up on time at our hotel, and dropped off at the end of the day, which is a great service. Make sure you try the tomato soup at the tomato farm, it's delicious!

The Blue Lagoon excursion was a delight - I was surprised that there didn't seem to be any time limit - we were dropped of in the morning, and it was left to us to decide when to head back to Reykjavik - the coaches leave regularly. Again, a brilliantly efficient service.

There was just one problem - there was no toilet available on the Golden Circle coach - there are plenty of toilet breaks, but it can be a long wait for those with irritable bowel syndrome.

1  Thank Paulie_Polecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikExcursions, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Paulie,
It is encouraging for us to receive such positive feedback regarding our staff, tours and services.
I will pass your message on to Sigríður, your guide during the Golden Circle tour.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
All the best,
Helga Bryndís
________________________________
Helga Bryndís Jónsdóttir
Quality, Environmental & Safety Control
Reykjavik Excursions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reykjavik Excursions also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Reykjavik Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing