We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Nordic Dream”
Review of Dill Restaurant

Dill Restaurant
Ranked #88 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $90
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
california
Level Contributor
150 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“New Nordic Dream”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The food was inspired, amazing, as locally sourced as possible- it was food elevated to a high art form. The owner himself served us and was wonderful in every way. it is an experience; takes a long time to have 10+ courses but the setting could not be more pleasant. It is a very small place so you should get reservations in advance. The dishes are quite small, some just a bit, but it's nice because you enjoy so many amazing tastes without feeling stuffed. Thumbs up- do the whole Prixe Fixe menu and the wine pairing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank drmrussellphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    77
    24
    12
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“An experience!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This meal was an experience. We had the five course selection and it was lovely. Our wait staff was excellent and filled us in on the food and wine. The space is really cool. We didn't sit at the bar to watch the chefs but it looked like it would be a great experience.

Not cheap.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jenbirdistheword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
226 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Iceland Reimagined”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Situated in a heritage building it shares with its sister pizzeria, the cozy dining room at Dill is a study in contrasts, with soft colours, exposed wood and metal, in a nicely lit and inviting space, From the moment we stepped through the door and were warmly greeted, there was a palpable sense of our supper that evening being something special, and we were not disappointed.

The tasting menu consisted of a variety of 'snacks' followed by seven courses. The menu itself is very ingredient focussed and under-commits by not attempting to overwhelm the diner with unnecessary superlatives. But the descriptions themselves do manage to hint at aspects of Iceland itself - The Water, The Earth and The Air.

Standout dishes of the evening included the celeriac with burned cheese, fatty, salty and sharp; the Arctic char with mussel reduction and pickled seaweed, simply a taste of the sea on a plate; the Murre, a bird that tastes like a fish; and the smoked Icelandic chocolate with caramelized whey and wild strawberries. But every dish in the progression was spot on beautifully refined, with amazing flavours and a precise presentation on the plate.

The service was crisp and nicely paced and our wine pairings were presented by the very genial and informative sommelier. We also had a nice chat with the chef who is very understated but clearly singleminded and passionate about his vision.

During the evening, we heard the comment that Dill is not there to serve comfort food, something I interpreted to refer to traditional Icelandic fare. But the menu was very evocative of Iceland itself both through the use of local, seasonal ingredients and the lack of artifice or culinary tricks used to prepare the dishes.

In any other country, Dill would already have at least one Michelin star and be on at least one of those "Best of" lists. That will no doubt come to pass, so go there before the crowds catch on and turn securing a reservation here into a Noma-like experience. If you enjoy amazing food, you will not be disappointed

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Boh_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Michelin star”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

The best restaurant in Reykjavik
Great flavors with seasonal icelandic ingredients, also perfect service. One of my best meals

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Benni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Special Place, nice Food”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The restaurant interior is extraordinary and the Service is really good. We choose the 5 course menu with wine accompanionment. Lovely Food, special dishes.. I expected a little bit more, but definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nofretete13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dill Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Dill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing