We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly reccomended for lovers of top quality cusine, culture and design.”
Review of Dill Restaurant

Dill Restaurant
Ranked #91 of 473 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $90
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Danish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Kopavogur, Iceland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Highly reccomended for lovers of top quality cusine, culture and design.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Dill is a nordic restaurant in the Nordic House in Reykjavik (house designed by Alvar Aalto, worth a visit with or with out a stop in the restaurant)
The Nordic house is located in the univerrsity area, of University of Iceland, fairly close to the National Museum of Iceland. The owners are young, highly qualified and ambitious chefs, they have a gsrden behind the house where they grow herbs and vegetables for the restaurant.
The menu is small but changes very frequently. I like visiting for lunch and can reccomend the soup. I enjoy the finnish design in every little detail in the restaurant (iittala).
I visited the National Museum of Iceland at 10 in december and looked for the christmascat with my son and met one of the icelandic julelads and then we came over here for lunch and revealing. Of the days artist in the nordic house's advent calendar.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeidrunH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    79
    28
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“One of a kind experience”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

While might be a bit heavy on your wallet, this place is a gem. Great nordic dishes, extensive vine list, and astonishing views.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank no_nonsense_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannum Sands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique quality”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Foods paired to wine over 7 courses. Unique and interesting combinations done excellently. This restaurant should be on your bucket list

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Damage2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rykjavik
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A bit hard to find this restaurant as their is no obvious signage, but we had the most beautifully cooked cod or lunch, would recommend them, but it is a very understated restaurant in terms of decor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Agnes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Adventure is the only word to describe this”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I went to Dill yesterday with my wife, and was very intimidated by their menu. It sounded like a 2000 Watt shock to the taste buds. But we went along and ordered 3 courses - with wine to go.

First course just blew us away - not in a 2000 Watt way, but gave a shiver down the spine way. Raw salt fish with all kinds of strange things blended - and mixed perfectly.

Second course was duck in all sorts of strange things. Again - it gave only pleasure, no shock :-)

The dessert was also amazing. Skyr with rhubarb and nitroed (!) fresh herbs. Amazing.

The wine of course matched perfectly.

We just went home after the experience on a Friday night... had to digest the experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dadi_Ingolfsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dill Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Dill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing