We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Erik the Red Guesthouse -- Eiríkur rauði”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eric the Red Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2009

stayed in Eiríkur rauði (erik the red) back in 2007(?). liked it. the biggest "+" for me was its location: easy walk to the city center, across the street from hallgrimskirja (or however it's spelled). there is a sculpture garden and the sculptor's museum one house away from it. several blocks away, on baronsvigur (spelling?), is one of the reykjavik's public pools. the pool is not as good as the more popular one near the hostel, but it's covered. due to its proximity you can drop in in no time. the neighborhood is very quiet, especially in the evening.

this is a big private house rented out room by room. the house was well-appointed and clean. the breakfast was good (selection of cut meats, cereal, milk/cream/etc, juices, coffee, etc). there was also a kettle, cups, and tea bags in the common area for guests' use.

at the time i was there they had the lowest rates in the downtown area.

the "-" were: small size of the room. mine was a single, probably the smallest in the house. i don't care much about it, since i don't spend much time in my room anyway, but there was nothing you could do in your room other than sleep.

another "-" was inability to use the phone during the day, since there was no phone in the guest areas of the house, and the owner's area was usually locked off during the day. i could ask to use it during the breakfast, though. they did not have internet either.

my room didn't have a private shower, but i don't feel like it was a problem, since there are not that many guestrooms using a shared bathroom. don't think i had to wait.

overall it may be a perfect place to stay, depending on what kind of a traveler you are. i'm fooling with an idea of flying to reykjavik again, and Eiríkur rauði is on my short list of places to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank max_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Eric the Red Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 333 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jean-Claude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Passer votre chemin
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fifidepassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BiancaB_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edwin Artur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
Thank nicotvl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lilo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,177 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 54 in Reykjavik
657 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eric the Red Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eric the Red Guesthouse

Address: Eiriksgata 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: $153 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse in the heart of Reykjavik City Center. This is a perfect home away from home guesthouse with personal atmosphere and service. We have reasonable prices, delicious breakfast buffet, offer free internet access and tours with the hosts into the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Eric the Red Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erik The Red Guesthouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing