We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended, somewhat slapdash”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eric the Red Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Recommended, somewhat slapdash”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Don’t be discouraged by the unprepossessing outside: once inside, everything is comfortable, with interesting art on the walls and a friendly ginger cat. We arrived in the morning and were very glad to be welcomed in for breakfast and to be able to check in to our room right away. (We left very early on our departure day so we had one breakfast per night we stayed.) We were less glad that the room we were shown to was a different room from the one we’d been promised by email and to be quoted a different price, but it wasn’t too awkward to confirm we’d be paying the originally quoted price. We still had a room with a private bathroom and good blackout curtains. The host was very generous with advice and directions. We chose the guesthouse because of its proximity to the BSI bus terminal and it was indeed very easy to walk to and from. It was also great to be removed from any nightlife noise. We thought we might be disturbed by noise from within the guesthouse since we could hear other guests in the hallway, but didn’t have any problems. Considerate guests? We certainly had great conversations at the breakfast table. It’s not a bad walk to all the things we wanted to see in town and it’s a treat to walk out the front door and have Hallgrimskirkja right in front of you. We’d recommend it to friends, but warn them to be prepared for unexpected changes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley_ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    76
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
77
115
54
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Interesting décor with very basic rooms. Some of the rooms have shared bathrooms. Owner is interesting old man with quite strong mood swings;-) Very good location, but I can not imagine to stay there for longer than 1-2 nights. It is close to domestic airport and city center. For what it is offering a little bit overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed her for six nights on a business trip. Had a single room with shared facilities and although this would not be my usual style of accomodation, I found everything quide satisfactory.
The breakfast although nothing fancy was quite good with the usual stuff (cereals. cheese, cold
cuts etc) and did the job. The single room was quite small but again suited my needs as I just used the guesthouse as a base. The location is excellent, very central and in walking distance of
anything Reykjavic has to offer. The owners Runar and Edda were very friendly and very sociable especially Runar as each evening he wouldnt let me leave without having some schnaps
and some sharkmeat. So overall quite a nice place to stay, by no means upmarket, but as a base for sightseeing etc you couldnt get better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareCountyclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The guest house is in an excellent location, slightly away from the main thoroughfares with bars and nightclubs but very close to the imposing Hallgrimskirkja, so you won't ever get lost, and within ten minutes uphill walk from the BSI coach station. The breakfast was excellent, with porridge, plenty of bread, jam, cheeses and cold meat/fish and Edda made up a packed lunch for our last morning as we had to leave for the airport before breakfast. The hosts are friendly, knowledgeable and quite casual, the room was downstairs on the ground floor but had adequate light, a very comfortable bed and a small ensuite - don't expect great TV though, just one station in Icelandic!

On our arrival we were let into the room early even though check-in wasn't till 14:00, which meant we could go on our first trip without carrying luggage around, and on the second day Edda booked us on a trip at very short notice (during breakfast when the bus was on its way) so all credit to them for helping us enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I just returned from a week-long trip to Iceland with my two16 yr olds. We spent three nights at Eric the Red Guesthouse and it was the perfect place for us. The location is excellent, within easy walking distance of the center of Reykjavic. We stayed in a triple room with privatebath in the ground floor, which was clean and quiet. There is wifi available throughout the house. The breakfast was a variety of cheeses, cereals, breads, and smoked fish. The owners were very friendly and helpful -- even giving us a lift when we missed our ride to go whale watching. They were also very accomodating about having us arrive at 8am and sleeping when we first landed. We spent a couple of nights at a much more expensive place in Snojfells, and my kids agreed that we liked Eric the red better!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tashipluto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
164 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The first thing that comes to mind is the location. It is close to the center of Rekyjavic yet is in a quiet area. The rooms were clean and ours had a small private bathroom. The breakfast was good, with a variety of cheeses and breads, coffee and juice. The owners were friendly and helpful. One evening we shared the local fire water and fermented shark (a speciality of the country)-nice touch. Parking is on the street and is free and easy to find. Overall, the price is average. It is hard to get a reasonably priced B&B anywhere in Iceland. Likewise, food costs are expensive. There are some good fish and chip places down near the harbor. With a good local beer this should satisfy your hunger pains at a more reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savvy2olympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed (with our teenage kids) for several nights, they in the attic room and we in a ground floor room. The whole place is filled with original artwork on every wall in the place save for the bathrooms, and there is an amazing view you get with the 2 skylights in the attic room. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Location is perfect and Edda and Runar are gracious hosts. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eric the Red Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eric the Red Guesthouse

Property: Eric the Red Guesthouse
Address: Eiriksgata 6, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse in the heart of Reykjavik City Center. This is a perfect home away from home guesthouse with personal atmosphere and service. We have reasonable prices, delicious breakfast buffet, offer free internet access and tours with the hosts into the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Eric the Red Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erik The Red Guesthouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing