We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northern Lights”

Reykjavik Excursions Northern Lights Tour
Ranked #152 of 372 Tours in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Northern Lights, also known as the Aurora Borealis are a spectacular natural phenomenon, often seen dancing around in fantastic colours across the Icelandic Arctic sky. The Northern lights are caused by the interaction of particles from the sun with the upper atmosphere near the North Pole. That creates this wonderful light effect, known as the Aurora Borealis.The locations visited are different every tour since we go where it’s most likely to see the Northern Lights each day. This tour is dependant on weather and sightings are not guaranteed. Refreshments not included.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

A long night by the time you pick everyone up, meet the larger coaches, get on and get started!
The guide was very knowledgeable and helpful.
Stood around for a couple of hours, which is cold, so remember your thermals!
Unfortunately we didn't get to see the lights, they didn't come out through our whole stay, but this is a great excuse to go back!
I'm sure the long night would have been worth it if we had seen them.

2  Thank pandychelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"first night"
in 150 reviews
"reykjavik excursions"
in 172 reviews
"northern lights"
in 610 reviews
"naked eye"
in 63 reviews
"green light"
in 14 reviews
"clear night"
in 31 reviews
"wrap up warm"
in 43 reviews
"long exposure"
in 23 reviews
"clear skies"
in 35 reviews
"previous night"
in 16 reviews
"camera settings"
in 25 reviews
"mother nature"
in 19 reviews
"national park"
in 46 reviews
"magical experience"
in 14 reviews
"aurora borealis"
in 23 reviews
"bucket list"
in 26 reviews
"picked up from our hotel"
in 20 reviews
Filter

928 - 932 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

Well organised excursion, but a long cold night. Lights did appear eventually, was it worth it yes for the sight, but full buses, long journey and the hotel at the end so full not worth queuing for loos or hot drink.

2  Thank Frances R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had three nights in Iceland to see the Northern Lights and fortunately for us we saw them two out of three nights.

The third night was the best night (29/03/14), we went to the car park at the national park (this location had toilets) and it was a very successful night, the skies were clear and the lights were dancing, however to the naked eye, I only saw white-grey lights, my camera however caught some brilliant colours.

There were however A LOT of people who came ill prepared. Loads of people brought DSLR cameras and didn't know how to use the manual settings, lots of people brought basic point and shoot digital cameras, smart phones (it would have been impossible to shoot the lights with such devices that night), lots of people didn't have tripods and most people didn't dress warm enough and ended up staying on the bus.

If you plan on seeing the lights and want to shoot them I cant stress enough how important it is to learn how to use your cameras manual settings and bring a tripod, we had lots of people come up to us asking how to use their cameras and although we tried our best to help, most people left frustrated, again we didn't actually get to see ANY colours whatsoever with our eyes, our cameras did all the magic.

The really exciting part was taking pictures and seeing how they turned out, seeing the shapes in the sky and then seeing what the camera produced was amazing. I only learned how to use my camera's manual settings the weekend before and borrowed a friends tripod for the trip, needless to say I'm pretty darn happy I put in the effort beforehand!

23  Thank Elaine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We went on two tours as on the first tour we only had a poor showing of the lights. Unfortunately on the second night we did not see them at all but the sky was so clear! Our guide Steinunn was very knowledgeable and explained a lot to us. She was able to capture the poor light showings on her camera to show us as a camera can take in more light than the human eye. Be prepared to be in very windy/cold conditions and waiting around outside. The coaches are open if you do get cold. The tour is a must to see the lights. It is free to go again if you don't see the lights which is a bonus.

5  Thank sophieandadam27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikExcursions, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik Excursions Northern Lights Tour, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Sophie,
Thank you for sharing your Nothern Lights experience with us and also for your kind words towards the guide, Steinunn. I will pass them on.
The Northern Lights are as you know a spectacular natural phenomenon and unfortunately we cannot guarantee the sightings.
If you return to Iceland I sincerely hope that you will have better luck in seeing the lights.
It is important to dress warmly for this tour as the weather in Iceland changes very quickly.
All the best,
Helga Bryndís
_________________________________
Helga Bryndís Jónsdóttir
Quality, Environmental & Safety Control
Reykjavik Excursions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We saw very little in terms of Northern Lights which certainly isn't the operator's fault but they need to find a way to entertain the group in lieu of a spectacular sighting. There is an insanely overpriced mini-bar on the lower deck when it is being manned and that's about it. The guide, though lovely, had few stories to tell and so only came over the P.A. system sporadically with pithy bits of information. The staff is very friendly, the coveralls are warm and the mini-bus driver was very entertaining but overall it was pretty dull and over-priced.

1  Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReykjavikExcursions, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik Excursions Northern Lights Tour, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Ali,
Thank you for your comments about your Northern Lights experience.
I would like to point out that your comments have not reached the company you were travelling with as this site belongs to Reykjavik Excurisons.
I do hope that you had an enjoyable stay in Iceland.
All the best,
Helga Bryndís
_________________________________
Helga Bryndís Jónsdóttir
Quality, Environmental & Safety Control
Reykjavik Excursions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reykjavik Excursions Northern Lights Tour also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Reykjavik Excursions Northern Lights Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing