We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chance you take”

Reykjavik Excursions Northern Lights Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.00*
and up
Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik
Ranked #66 of 343 Tours in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Northern Lights, also known as the Aurora Borealis are a spectacular natural phenomenon, often seen dancing around in fantastic colours across the Icelandic Arctic sky. The Northern lights are caused by the interaction of particles from the sun with the upper atmosphere near the North Pole. That creates this wonderful light effect, known as the Aurora Borealis.The locations visited are different every tour since we go where it’s most likely to see the Northern Lights each day. This tour is dependant on weather and sightings are not guaranteed. Refreshments not included.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A chance you take”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I were lucky to see the lights as the tour on the evening before our tour and the evening after our tour were cancelled due to adverse weather conditions. So we were very lucky to see the lights (even though it was only for around 5 minutes). Disliked the cold whilst waiting for the lights to appear but it was well worth it. It is unfortunately a chance you take and you may go to Iceland, or wherever for that matter and not get to see the Northern Lights. Tour well operated and co-ordinated.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    241
    199
    117
    131
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hunting for Lights!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had the unique opportunity of going on a Northern Lights Mystery tour. The guide was informative and helpful and committed to showing us the lights. We drove north of Reykjavik through tunnels and over bridges until we found a remote location where there was a clearing. Hunting for the lights is not for the weary and one should dress in layers with gloves and hats. Although our first stop was fruitless, on our way back our eagle eye guide spotted lights, got the driver to pull over and we successfully saw the beautiful lights. Was this worth it, yes indeed it was but, it was not the most ideal conditions. The company did there best with unpredictable Mother Nature. The tour bus was tight and having a restroom on board would be helpful but overall this was as average experience for myself and my husband. If you go to Iceland, I recommend trying to see the lights every night you are there otherwise you may miss it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Teeplepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luck of the Irish”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Dont go to Iceland just for the Northern Lights - you'll be disapointed. But on11th Feb with just one bus and about 20 Japanese ladies, we were treated to magnificient activity in the sky about 45 kms from uReykjavik. If we had not been so lucky then the chaotic organisation may have been a problem. But our guide was very informative and we stopped several times.
We heard from others that sometimes several buses stay together which is terrible for serious photographers.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank happyueber50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Coach tour”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great tour. Gave us 3 chances to see the lights. 2 nights were cloudy and one night we went out into the National Park into the darkness, but the lights did not show! Friendly trip!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Beeinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Northern Lights tour-valentines weekend”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Was okay, service was good ut as it is all weather dependent and the lights are hit and miss nothing could bedone to improve it- was rated 3/10 for the lights that evning however day before was 0/10

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mhairy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reykjavik Excursions Northern Lights Tour also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Reykjavik Excursions Northern Lights Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing