We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Reykjavik

“Cozy dinner”

Bastard Brew & Food
Ranked #125 of 590 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $14 - $22
Description: Bastarð Brew & Food is situated at Vegamótastígur 4 in downtown Reykjavík. We offer a few of our own beers as well as dozen of beer from other breweries on draft and a good selection of bottled beer. We make ambitious craft cocktails where we do our own refreshing twists on classics like the Moscow Mule and Aperol Spritz. The kitchen is open from 11:45AM to 11PM every day. It has courses like flatbreads with a variety of different toppings, mini tacos, burgers, chicken Louisiana style, cheese and charcuterie platter and more. Happy hour from 4-7PM every day and DJ spins from 10PM Thursday to Saturday.
Restaurant details
Description: Bastarð Brew & Food is situated at Vegamótastígur 4 in downtown Reykjavík. We offer a few of our own beers as well as dozen of beer from other breweries on draft and a good selection of bottled beer. We make ambitious craft cocktails where we do our own refreshing twists on classics like the Moscow Mule and Aperol Spritz. The kitchen is open from 11:45AM to 11PM every day. It has courses like flatbreads with a variety of different toppings, mini tacos, burgers, chicken Louisiana style, cheese and charcuterie platter and more. Happy hour from 4-7PM every day and DJ spins from 10PM Thursday to Saturday.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

Went in because of the name, stayed because of the atmosphere. The beer was great and our food came so quickly we thought it wasn’t for us because we just ordered. Was still hot and very good to eat.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 482rymeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 278 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

During our recent trip to Iceland we visited for a meal. We requested a table for 2 and were escorted to a very small table with 2 high barstools and very little light. Being in our 70s this was far from ideal. We couldn't even see the menu let alone read it!! We said we might have another couple joining us.......their reply.....you could sit outside We didn't stay.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank lancashiretown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

We loved this place. We had a few beers and two courses after a day sightseeing. Warm and cosy and lots of food and drink options. We had meat and fish tacos as a main and the flat bread and dips for starter.

The bar has interior which is really interesting to have a walk about and see. Very friendly and hospitable staff. We would definitely return.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank debbiewalker36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

Dropped in as passing and needed to warm up, we were only going to have a quick drink but friendly welcome, had the 4 beer taster then decided to have a fat bastard burger, was really good, great fries and tasty burger, then more beer and a coffee. This sounds odd but loved the toilets, upstairs past the stills and comedy sketches being played over the speaker in the loo, made me laugh! Shame we found this place on our last day!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank debra141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

3.30 on a Wednesday afternoon, only us and a handful of other tables. Quick service, food came out and was fantastic - just what we needed. Filling, hot and not horrendously expensive. Would go back. Great decor and atmosphere. Loved the sign on the loo door as well!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank mylifetolead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bastard Brew & Food also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Bastard Brew & Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing