We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great soup”
Review of Svarta Kaffid

Svarta Kaffid
Ranked #15 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Tiny family owned soup restaurant in the heart of Reykjavik We are the first "soup in bread" restaurant in Iceland. We've been serving soups in bread for over 20 years and still loving it. We don't take reservations, ever - but swing by and we will do our best to fit you in with smiles on our faces! :)
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great soup”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Very tasty, with amazing bread bowl,the mushroom soup and the seafood soup was just excellent. Nice place in the heart of Reykjavik.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivan Sashov S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,212
    558
    99
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good soup, bad service”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This place won't have you looking over a menu too finally find what you want. You can either choose soup, or a different kind of soup. The soup is served in a hollowed-out bread. The soup itself was good, but the bread had been baked for too long, making it a bit dry to eat once the soup was finished.

When I was here, the staff was very unpleasant. The woman behind the counter looked like she was actually trying too shoot lightning with her eyes. Do visit the bathroom when you're here, it's quite amusing :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janvryck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A loaf of Soup”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We saw it and had to try it Soup served inside a hollowed round loaf of bread ( large roll ). A nice restaurant quite small and cosy, staff very friendly the food was very nice. Just love the idea of soup inside your bread, helps cut down on the washing up. Give it a try !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tattoopair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Unlike most of the recent users who reviewed this restaurant, I did not find it so outstanding. With that being said, I did not regret trying it. I mean, come on, a soup in a bowl made of bread. How can you pass by and not have any reaction to this. That's how this cafe gets its customers and it does not disappoint.
The bowl made out of bread is indeed quite an extraordinary idea and it lives up to the expectations. The soup itself, on the other hand, is nothing special. There. I said it. Honestly, in Canada, we have Tim Hortons who even serves a better soup. However, that did not spoil my experience and I have no regrets of coming in and trying the soup. I don't think that it should spoil your experience either.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 6shot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant soup in bread bowl”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Quirky cafe with great staff and sour dough bread bowls full of the vegetarian or meat soup of the day. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Svarta Kaffid also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Svarta Kaffid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing