We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of Sjavarbarinn

Sjavarbarinn
Ranked #44 of 577 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Vidid and homely seafood restaurant by the old harbour in Reykjavik opposite the Maritime museum. Fresh fish is our game! Magnús Ingi Magnússon, chef and owner of Sjávarbarinn, also guides groups in a gourmet walk by the old harbour. He welcomes the group in his seafood restaurant at 10 am with traditional fermented shark and Icelandic schnaps, called Brennivín or Black Death, and more local delicacies. Participants are then led on a tour by the old harbour that ends with a visit to the Icelandic fish market nearby where they can see the fresh variety in the day‘s catch. Magnús Ingi guides the tour and gives an introduction to Icelandic fisheries and its history. Then the group returns to Sjávarbarinn for a feast, a buffet with variety of the best seafood that day. There Magnús talks about traditional and popular seafood dishes and cooking methods. The meal ends appr. at 12.30 pm. More information at our website, sjavarbarinn.is. Only 6,900 ISK per person – €55 – $66
Reviewed October 7, 2015

Very Friendly, congenial staff. Excellent selection of fresh fish prepared perfectly. The owner was really nice and informative. The food was yummy. We had fish soup which was delicious, catch of the day was sublime, the salad bar selection contained many delicious icelandic delicacies , and the fish and chips were delicate and wonderful. We would recommend this to anyone. Really enjoyed ourselves.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dwightisthenewblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 316 of 482 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2015 via mobile

We ordered the fish pan. Great combo of white fishes, octopus, shrimp, lobster, clams, and vegetables. The seafood soup of the day was also excellent.
This place also appears to be a favorite for locals too.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2015

The Sjavarbarinn Restaurant is located in the harbor area right across the street from the Aurora Northern Lights Center, and several other museums. My companion and I had what was described to us as authentic Icelandic fish soup, and it seemed to be the signature dish of the restaurant. It was loaded with prawns, mussels, cod, etc., and was very good. Even though the place wasn't crowded, the service, especially when trying to pay, was very slow.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank sgitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2015

This restaurant lulled us in by a sign saying "Fish and Chips, nice price". Yes it is a little bit cheaper than other places, but not that much less. The food was horrible!!! I have traveled the world, eaten at many street vendors and dives, but this food was so bad we both left most of it on our plates and I wish I wouldn't have eaten any of it. I felt like I had a rock in my stomach for hours. The staff is not very friendly.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank docBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2015

The lunch buffet in this place is worth the price (which is pretty reasonable, for Iceland). The chef here has a huge assortment of cold and hot fish dishes plus salads - not one of them is bad, and several of them made us stop and mumble some enthusiastic exclamation over mouthfuls of tasty food. So good!

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank jaschan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjavarbarinn also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Sjavarbarinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing