We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good and Easy Gluten Free ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sjavarbarinn

Sjavarbarinn
Ranked #112 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty good and Easy Gluten Free ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

After a long jet lagged (and really hungry) day we were happy to find this restaurant on Old Harbour and even happier that they understood my gluten free needs.

It was an easy walk, just behind the Marine museum, and although we got there way to early for dinner (buffet didn't start until closer to 6) the waitress and staff were very friendly.

My gluten free meal was the catch of the day, which was plenty of food, they made sure to make it special without wheat which I don't believe it would have had anyway. My husband had the buffet which was an interesting experience. Being the first day in Reykjavik we wanted seafood (and it was our anniversary so we splurged on the pricey plates) it was a very traditional spread but the Icelandic stew was his favorite part and you can order it off the menu too. But all you can eat seafood buffet with salads was a great option.

It was a very good meal and the staff were so friendly. If you want mid priced and true tasty seafood fare then this is a great option.

Helpful?
1 Thank eeebeetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    52
    16
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
322 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Ok, but not worth the trek there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a bit of a trek from the downtown main shopping area. We went here thinking we would get a good variety of seafood on the buffet, but were disappointed. Almost everything they had was deep fried or covered in heavy sauces. They has some chicken and some other dishes, but they were prepared the same way as the fish. You get your money's worth for quantity, but it isn't very good. The bread and soup were both very good though.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler092006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eyrarbakki, Iceland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Terrible Big mistake”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

The meal was over cooked, small dose, they pleace is dirt, time for they chef to take bath. Butter were floting over they dish, soup were to strong. Main courses arrived before we were done with the soup

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Víglundur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

I have been in Reykjavik for some days with my family and we decided to go to this restaurant located near the harbour. I have to say that the food is really fantastic - we took the fish soup (me and wife), the fish cake (my daughter) and the fish and chips (my son) and we were all very pleased with our choice. Adding that we were offered a free ride to the salad buffet, that indeed was made up of different kind of fish & salads and was very good too.
The place is very simple and the atmosphere friendly and familiar and I would really recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GiorgioG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best meal you will have in Reykjavik”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

During our 9 day stay in Reykjavik this was the best meal we had experienced. The restaurant was full but the owner and chef found us a table. We had the sea food buffet that included: lobster tails, goose and reindeer, various types of fish what a delight it was cooked superbly and the chef took great pride by explaining each dish he had proudly prepared. The restaurant is very informal but the food was 5* plus rest of the guest were mainly locals which I thought was a good indication of the quality that you can expect.
What are you waiting for? go and enjoy as we did.
It cost £52 for both of us and this included the x 2 large Gull beers.
An evening that I will remember for a good long time.
Bon appetite

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stag300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sjavarbarinn also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Sjavarbarinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing