We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guesthouse Borgartun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reykjavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guesthouse Borgartun
Ranked #50 of 106 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The rooms are located on the upper floors of a drab office building, approximately a 25 minute walk from the center of town. The wifi did not always work in the room, but the signal was fine in the dining area. Rooms have antiquated electrical outlets which, according to what I was told, were standard in the 1970s. Today you need an adapter (provided by the manager) to convert to standard Icelandic/European outlets.

But these were the only negatives, which were more than overcome by the plain, but clean and comfortable rooms, the friendly and helpful manager (and her husband), the nice breakfast and the reasonable price.

Even the non-central location had its advantages. The facility is within walking distance of Laugardalslaug, the best of the local geothermal swimming and recreational complexes. You are also within walking distance of the Brasserie Askur, a well-reviewed restaurant with an excellent Sunday buffet. All the tour buses pick up at this hotel and there is public transit to downtown if it is too long a walk.

It was good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu5390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    50
    40
    4
    4
See reviews for
14
38
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
670 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,735 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

One of the better guesthouses in Reykjavik, when you get past the fact that it is an office block and tourist agency. 24 hr service which is great and leaving at 3.45 the night manager had prepared a full breakfast for 3am - most welcoming. But lots of guests arrive and leave throughout the night so it can become quite noisy, the lift is also very small and quite scary as it appears very old and was reluctant to use it in the small hours in case it broke down which meant 4 flights of stairs with luggage which isnt great hen trying to be quiet. The rooms are small and basic, but do have small en-suite facilities. A pleasant 25 minute walk to the city centre which is better done via the harbour that through the commercial district. Room are very warm and opening the window allows horrendous traffic noise which continues throughout the night so difficult to chose whether to be too hot or too noisy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is located 20 min outside downtown Reykjavik. It´s clean, functional and has friendly staff but offers nothing extra. The rooms are small and is located in an uninspiring building. The guesthouse is a bit hard to find since it has no sign with it´s name on. It is in a building on the corner of Borgartun street and the main road in to Reykjavik on the 3rd floor in the same building as a travel agency.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buskachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We gave the owner/manager notice that we will be arriving at 0200H and she waited for us. Very basic clean room with private bath/shower. We rented a car so we had no problems going back/forth around city center and Reykjavik. Good breakfast selection from 0800-1000H. We checked out at 0400H and they prepared breakfast to go. Highly recommended for those who are looking for clean, budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dags M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Nice people. Good breakfast - typical northern European. Simple little rooms with personal shower and balcony. Old furnishings, small TV and sheets. No dresser. Great location near public pool and easy to walk/bus everywhere. We enjoyed this little guesthouse tucked in an office building. Fairly priced. Unfortunately the first two days of our trip we were double booked and sent to a fancier hotel spot and we agreed the guesthouse was much better. The hotel was less convenient, cold atmosphere, and had so-so breakfast. We spent 7 nights at guesthouse and will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jd595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just spent 4 nights in Iceland at the Bogartun! Good value in an expensive country, the rooms although not large are clean, warm and have views of the sea if staying at the front of block! The bathroom although small was well equipped and a great shower! Hair dryer and plenty of clean towels! There was a small t.v with only 3 channels! There is a residents lounge with books, comfortable Chairs and Internet access! Breakfast served in a nice dining room was excellent with cereals, yogurt, fresh breads, a selection of hams, cheese, eggs, fish and homemade jams! A selection of teas and coffee and fruits made it actually great value and filled you up for the day! The owner i cannot praise highly enough! She was helpful, ordered taxis, gave advice on places to go and generally chatty and interested in you! I would stay again! There is a travel agency on the first floor with helpful staff to book trips etc...

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front! Good views of the sea! Didn't notice noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosieposi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our group arrived on Thursday to find the hotel we booked had overbooked their rooms so we were to go next door. In a way I am glad they did. I had a lovely spacious room at the front. If you don't like main road noise then this isn't the place for you. I don't mind as I live on a main road at home. It was very clean. The breakfast lovely. Really good selection of bakery bread no supermarket chemical muck. It's about 30 mins walk from the town center, but most of that is along the seafront.
No need to run the shower for ages there was instant hot eggy wiffy water, Take off any silver before you go in. Our flight was very early on Sunday and If we wished they would leave a meal for us, but the hotel already promised this as a compensation for the bump

I am glad we got bumped

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weequine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Laugardalur
Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin
#46 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Laugardalur
Star Guesthouse
Star Guesthouse
#69 of 98 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Guesthouse Bina
#51 of 98 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alba Guesthouse
#38 of 106 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
JodEmm Homestay
#79 of 98 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Laugardalur
Guesthouse Helga
Guesthouse Helga
#32 of 106 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Borgartun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Borgartun

Property: Guesthouse Borgartun
Address: Borgartun 34, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Guesthouse Borgartun 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guðmundur Jonasson’s headquarters at Borgartun in Reykjavik house not only our main travel office and fleet of vehicles, but also a good standard 22 room Guest House – all comfortable bedrooms are en-suite and have a colour TV. There is also a breakfast room and lounge with internet access and it is only a short walk to the main swimming pool and close to a good selection of restaurants. Reykjavik City Centre is within easy reach, either by foot or by local bus. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borgartun Guest House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing