We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Capital-Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Capital-Inn
Ranked #58 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Mikkeli, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

You get what you pay for: nothing fancy, but everything's good enough. It's a budget travellers dream with cheapest price in Reykjavik (11€ being actually cheap for a country this expensive), big cozy kitchen, free wi-fi that reaches even the basement, and friendly, helpful staff. They even sell healthy snacks! We stayed during off-season so we even got linen free of charge.
It's a bit far from city centre, however if you have a car (as you really should in Iceland), it's not a problem. The big dorm room is a small room full of bunk beds, so in summer it might be uncomfortable. In winter/spring it was almost empty. The beds were quite comfortable to sleep in.

Room Tip: In summer time, avoid the biggest dorm room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeeraKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    113
    88
    36
    32
See reviews for
35
107
77
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We spent our stay in a 10-bed dorm on the lower floor, even though we booked and paid for a 14-bed :)

We found the hostel to be clean and very friendly, The staff really went out of their way for us on many occasions. the common areas could have been better, the ground floor 'restaurant' was not conducive to conversation and had constant English/American TV on. The basement dining room was a little better and most people were chatty down there. The walk-in fridge was handy but smelt funny.

The only lockable lockers we saw were tiny and shared between multiple rooms, surely not enough for everyone but everyone there seemed friendly and trustworthy (so much so that my expensive digital camera was handed in immediately).

Our room had 2 windows that opened onto the roadside of the hotel, they were open the whole time we were there and our sleep was fine. The room was very hot though and the only way to turn the radiators down was to clamber rapist-like over the sleeping girl in the corner bunk. Not ideal and it was hot every night.

Handy hints - Bus 18 goes to town from nearby. you need 350 ISK and they don't carry change. Taxis are to be avoided at all costs. £15 to harbour. Can be walked in about 30 mins

there is an shopping mall nearby which has a BONUS where you will find the cheaper food. there is also an archery centre about 10 mins walk through a nice wooded park. http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g189970-d4235956-Reviews-Bogfimisetrid-Reykjavik_Capital_Region.html

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

I and some friends of mine spent two nights there. The toilets are clean and the kitchen is well-equipped. When there were too many ppl in our room that we could not find out beds,they agreed to give is another 4-bed room for compensation. The staff are willing to answer your questions as well.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cls0724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights 6th Feb. Value for money was superb, the breakfast was a typical continental breakfast which is served daily between 7-9am.

The rooms are basic and the bathroom facilities are shared however they are rarely busy. Rooms are cleaned daily by a lady called Anna who is very friendly.

Wifi is free and has good reception.

The staff in general cannot do enough to help you and are very pleasant. The hotel itself is around a 30 min walk from the main town however there is a shopping mall 10 mins walk away.

There is a pool table downstairs.

Bad points - there is a kitchen with full facilities downstairs that you can make use of, however the students that occupy the downstairs quarters are less than friendly - to be blunt, they were all very ignorant despite our best efforts for 5 nights running to strike up a conversation. When using the kitchen we felt as if we were intruding so not impressed at all.

Tips - there is a bus a few minutes up the road that will take you pretty much anywhere, tickets cost 350 Krones each and are valid for 1.5hrs so you can hop on and off buses with them.

The National Museum is closed on a Monday.

The local supermarket called Bonus is the cheapest place to get everything you need.

Taxis are very expensive, avoid if possible.

The Blue Lagoon, you can get a trip directly from the airport and then get taken straight onto your hotel afterwards as a package which works out cheaper.

Room Tip: Pick one at the back of the hotel as the front is near the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiss-me-goodnight-xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I spent the last 2 nights in this hotel, since it was closer to New Years and most hotels are fully booked and costs more. I got a private room with a private bath and it was nice. The bed was comfortable and I slept really well. The room and the bathroom was clean overall.

Location is a bit distance from the center -- it's about 40-50 mins walk. I was visiting in winter, it took me a while to get to downtown with the snow and ice (50 mins) They have free breakfast and wifi. A nice thing to have is elevators. I was at the 3rd floor and it was a hassle dragging my luggage. If you plan not to spend too much time in downtown or have a car, this location would be great. It close to the highway where you can take day trips.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookiebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed 3 or 4 nights in July.
Facilities - great. Bathrooms were a little dirty and outdated (a coupe of broken locks etc). But the kitchens were big and had everything you could need including a big walk-in fridge with boxes to store personal food and plenty of table space to sit and eat....although the dorm room kitchens on the ground floor are gloomy!
The big dorm rooms are great value and I slept better in a huge dorm room than in a 4-6 bed. The linen is included and the mattresses and pillows etc seem to have been brand new when I visited - really comfy!
Its about a 30 minute walk into the city centre, so this hostel isn't in the middle of buzzing Reykjavik, its on a beautiful little hill under the Perlan, by a little woodland and a short walk from the free thermal beach. I love the location. I love the price.
Sadly....this hostel is just let down on atmosphere. Somehow, it just doesn't foster travellers chatting and sharing tales....no really good common areas to meet and socialise - just the slightly gloomy kitchen!

Room Tip: If you are in the big dorm rooms....grab a bunk as far from the door as possible....and use the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsparagusLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

2 weeks in October 2013
There's two sticker "winner 2012 and 2013 certification of excellence" by Trip advisor.
How much did they give you for that ?
The worst stay all over the world, including poor countries.
Not going to tell all the very worst worries I had there.
I least I could let you know that if there is a problem (no internet, noisy people on a 2.AM check-in)
They will be here to listen to you, before to laugh at your face and take a piss on you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bennes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
1.5 mi away
4th Floor Hotel
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hlemmur Square
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
1.3 mi away
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Reykjavik Hostel Village
#35 of 100 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bus Hostel
Bus Hostel
#11 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
2.3 mi away
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
#3 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.1 mi away
Reykjavik Peace Center - Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital-Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital-Inn

Property: The Capital-Inn
Address: Sudurhlid 35d, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — The Capital-Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capital-Inn is ideally positioned for you to experience all that the vibrant city of Reykjavik has to offer. You are within easy walking distance to great restaurants and cafés and impressive shopping at the ,,Kringlan"shopping mall. The ,,Perlan" is just up the street from us, the city centre and the geothermal beach are also just minutes away.The Capital-Inn offers accommodation in spacious budget rooms with shared or private facilities. The guest-house also offers hostel beds on its ground floor with shared facilities. The guest-house offers guests in private rooms a complimentary breakfast, the guests staying in the hostel beds have usage of a large kitchen and a walk-in fridge. The guest-house offers bicycle rental, it also has a new pool table and a seating area where there is a small section with books for guests to borrow while they are staying here. Free Wi-Fi internet access is available in the whole building as well as free parking. Situated near the airport, in Reykjavik, this guesthouse is close to Reykjavik University, Hallgrimskirkja, and Perlan. Also nearby are Kringlan Shopping Mall and Kopavogur Art Museum.Hotel restaurant. In addition to a restaurant, The Capital-Inn features ski storage. Other amenities include complimentary wireless Internet access, laundry service. Premium satellite Televisions come with premium satellite channels. Guest rooms also feature complimentary wireless Internet access, desks, and clock radios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capital-Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capital Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing