We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hostel for our needs”
Review of The Capital-Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Capital-Inn
Ranked #58 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect hostel for our needs”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We only stayed 2 nights which were themselves separate and short but we have no complaints. They let us check-in even though it was 1am by the time we arrived, the beds were comfortable, showers were open rather than cubicles but hot, the kitchen was well equipped and there was a, albeit expensive, restaurant on site. In the hall are lots of leaflets of things to do and it was a 20 minute walk to the central bus station which is where most of the trips depart from.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    117
    90
    36
    34
See reviews for
35
109
83
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff in a big and bright hotel. Location is a bit out of the way but has plenty of parking if you have a car. Breakfast is really good, great way to start your if you plan to do lots of hiking and exploring. Really helpful at organising tours.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knuckles82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice for the price, but if you are looking for a quiet place to rest at night this isn't it. The highway is close and the doors are heavy (a lot of slamming and jarring our room!). Two showers/WCs for the whole floor wasn't enough either. Other than that, the staff was incredibly nice and helpful, the rooms were very clean and the breakfast buffet was nice. It's also well located.

Room Tip: Try to get a room where the highway is not next to the window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaMayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
347 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The rooms are good, overall the place is well kept up and the staff extremely helpful. Termal bathing (seaside) just 15 mins walks away. Breakfasts are basic, and the speedway a bit too close (noisy), but overall I'll come back when vising iceland again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraardsbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Capital Inn is a guest house where you can combine the advantages of a hotel with those of a hostel: you can have a private room with a breakfast buffet, but you can also prepare your own meal in the guest kitchen. The only disadvantage is that there are not enough shared toilets and showers for the private rooms on the upper floors.
A very friendly and helpful staff, fine breakfast buffet, a very modern guest kitchen with a huge refrigerator! The guests should be more tidy and hygienic when taking care of the kitchen equipment.
A bit far from the city centre but by means of public transport (bus service) it's attainable. Or you can hire a bike for a day.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My partner and I, stayed at Capital Inn back in December 2012 while travelling the southern tour of Iceland. I've never stayed anywhere with shared facilities before so was a bit skeptical. I was pleasantly surprised by how few people we saw while we were there, and the people we did see were nice. The staff were amazing. Can't remember his name but the older of the two guys on reception was brilliant - really helpful and funny. (May have been the hotel owner). He organised trips for us and really looked after us while we were there. He made himself available 24/7 and was always smiling!
The rooms were basic but nice and clean. The hotel was very quiet even though it's quite close to the main road and I think we had a whole floor to ourselves! Breakfast was included in the price and again, was basic but the price was so low we couldn't complain!
Couldn't believe what we got for the price.We would definitely stay here again if we were to return to Iceland. Lovely people, great location, amazing value! xx

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enskede, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Nice and clean. Friendly helpful staff. Shared facilities worked fine. Had to wait for 5min once in seven days. Calm location, but quite long walk to city centre (40min). Excellent beds. Used the guet kitchen once. It was clean, but the equipment were quite worn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 102 in Reykjavik
1,081 reviews
Bus Hostel
#11 of 102 in Reykjavik
314 reviews
Reykjavik Hostel Village
#34 of 102 in Reykjavik
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#3 of 102 in Reykjavik
446 reviews
Laugardalur
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
#18 of 102 in Reykjavik
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital-Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital-Inn

Property: The Capital-Inn
Address: Sudurhlid 35d, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — The Capital-Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capital-Inn is ideally positioned for you to experience all that the vibrant city of Reykjavik has to offer. You are within easy walking distance to great restaurants and cafés and impressive shopping at the ,,Kringlan"shopping mall. The ,,Perlan" is just up the street from us, the city centre and the geothermal beach are also just minutes away.The Capital-Inn offers accommodation in spacious budget rooms with shared or private facilities. The guest-house also offers hostel beds on its ground floor with shared facilities. The guest-house offers guests in private rooms a complimentary breakfast, the guests staying in the hostel beds have usage of a large kitchen and a walk-in fridge. The guest-house offers bicycle rental, it also has a new pool table and a seating area where there is a small section with books for guests to borrow while they are staying here. Free Wi-Fi internet access is available in the whole building as well as free parking. Situated near the airport, in Reykjavik, this guesthouse is close to Reykjavik University, Hallgrimskirkja, and Perlan. Also nearby are Kringlan Shopping Mall and Kopavogur Art Museum.Hotel restaurant. In addition to a restaurant, The Capital-Inn features ski storage. Other amenities include complimentary wireless Internet access, laundry service. Premium satellite Televisions come with premium satellite channels. Guest rooms also feature complimentary wireless Internet access, desks, and clock radios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Capital-Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capital Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing