We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and plenty of room...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and plenty of room...”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We spent two days in Reykjavik at the end of a nine day trip to Iceland. The studio apartment was more than enough room for the two of us and was very nicely decorated. The staff was helpful upon check-in and provided us with nice added touch of a cell phone, which came in handy when we ran out of minutes on our global phone sim card! The location is only a few short blocks from the major street in Reykjavik so the noise from the weekend runter (sp?) was minimal, and the curtains in the room helped to block out the midnight sun very well - much better than most other places during our stay in Iceland. The free available parking was also a great benefit. For the price and amenities provided you'd be hard pressed to do much better.

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper floors with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyropo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    134
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
204
324
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I was a bit nervous about booking an apartment rather than a full service hotel but do not regret the choice at all. My daughter and I had an upper floor studio apartment and it was exactly as depicted on the web site. It was nice having the kitchenette in which to make breakfast and a fridge to store water and snacks. The apartment was spacious and had excellent storage; nice large bathroom with lots of hot water. The flat screen TV was lovely for watching movies, but as others have noted there is not much available in terms of TV. The free wifi was great and is a must for me when travelling.

The location was perfect. As others have said, there is a great bakery across the street and a grocery store around the corner. You're a very short walk to the main shopping street, yet far enough away to not have your sleep interrupted by late-night partiers. I'd heard this was a problem in lots of hotels/apartments in Reykjavik, but not on this street.

Having the use of a cell phone was not something we needed, but was a nice-to-have in case of emergency. I guess because the proprietors manage two properties and are not always there, it's nice to have the phone just in case.

I would highly recommend Reykjavik4you Apartments and would definitely stay here again. My only caveat is for those who are not comfortable with a place that doesn't have a front desk manned 24/7.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisahToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I can't imagine a better place to stay while in Reykjavik. The rooms (we booked a one bedroom) are well appointed and roomy (think Ikea showroom), the location is close to everything you'd need (grocery store around the corner, bakery across the street, restaurants and shops a few blocks away) and quiet. The management is available and friendly for questions and they give you a cell phone to use while you're here! The only improvement I'd like would be to have some basic spices available (like garlic) because it's expensive to buy the basic staples, but that's pretty standard for similar places and not really a complaint.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, KY
Level Contributor
236 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We recently spent three nights in a two-bedroom, one-bath unit (Apartment No. 203). We were very satisfied with our choice. The apartment was extremely clean and comfortable. We had free parking behind the apartment as well as complimentary wifi, DVDs, an Ipod docking station, alarm clocks etc. We also had a balcony. There was a flat screen television as well but the one Icelandic channel leaves something to be desired. Plenty of restaurant and travel guides were also available.
The location was excellent. Right in the Old Town. Bonus supermarket is right around the corner (it is the cheapest and closes at 6 p.m.) The oldest bakery in Iceland is across the street from the apartment and has great bread, croissaints. They also have sandwiches prepared and fresh grocery items like eggs,butter, cheese, ham, milk etc.
The main shopping area was steps away as was the famous Hallsgrimkirkja church (five-minute walk). The apartments are located on a quiet street though I did hear some early morning noise from night owls. The location of the apartment is that really that good. We loved walking around but it was easy to drive to all the major sites also because the roads are very good.
Our apartment was very clean with a great, modern decor. We slept very well though it is an adjustment to having daylight almost 24 hours a day. There were also four robes and slippers provided (nice for the Blue Lagoon).
Plenty of Ikea dishes and kitchen utensils and equipment, all in working order, were supplied. It was very easy to prepare meals. From home, I actually brought food that could travel like dry soup mixes, chili mix etc. where I only had to add water or some similar. Prices are extremely expensive in Iceland so this helped save some dollars. Also, pick up wine at the duty free store when you land -- It is much cheaper there than at the government-run stores.
Everything closes early in Reykjavik, which was somewhat surprising as it was daylight for pretty much 24 hours. Just plan accordingly.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Reykjavik4You again. It was a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jdvmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

This place is a brilliant find. Clean, well equipped and in a fantastic location, it offers great value for money. A comfortable alternative to staying in a hotel and I have recommended it to everyone I know who visits Reykjavik.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoJonesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Perfect location- quiet street but very close to bars & restaurants. Bakery on same street, supermarket around the corner. We had a top floor studio apartment which was ideal for the two of us. The apartment was clean, spacious, very well equipped. Found the local mobile phone just great for booking trips and restaurants. And free wifi too! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank happyannieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Just excellent. In the heart of everything and we found no probs with getting here. Narrow streets for even the Europeans amongst us but very much the charm and outstanding beauty of rek. RA4U were amazing. Stay here. No more need be said. Room 202 is wonderful 4 u.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
988 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
547 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel

Property: Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Address: Bergstadastraeti 12, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik4you Apartments offer great accommodation in Iceland in twenty new apartments in city center of Reykjavik. The apartments are fully furnished with fully equipped kitchen, with towels, bathrobes, slippers and linens. All the apartments have flat screen TV, DVD and iPod dock and hi-fi internet connection. Reykjavik4you Apartments is a small family company with personal service. If you need to rent a car in Iceland, we can offer you a comfortable car rental service that car will waiting for you in the free parking area at the hotel. We offer also our guests free booking service for Day Tour in Iceland. All our guests will have the option of the services to be picked-up at the hotel in start of the trip and returned there in end of the trip. If you are looking for a hotel in Reykjavik or home away from home in Iceland, Reykjavik4you Apartments is the perfect choice for you and you family on your journey to Reykjavik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing