We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try it for Sunday brunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of VOX Restaurant

VOX Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Háaleiti
Leesburg, Virginia USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Try it for Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

In the hilton hotel, and they do a great spread on Sundays from 11:30 am on. Get reservations as it fills up fast. All you can eat for about $33 each. Worth treating yourself to a salads, fish, prime rib, breaks fast fare and a good selection of desserts.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    166
    58
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
194 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Special New Year's Eve Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

As a very special New Year's Eve Treat, my fellow photographers and I shucked our wool base layers, boots and snow pants, showered and headed over for a prix fixe meal at Vox. It was a delicious meal. The decor is chic and simple, each course was plated beautifully and the staff was just the right amount of attentive.

The food was unusual and fun with a few molecular gastronomy type touches - not your typical Icelandic fish and potatoes in creamy sauce. I really enjoyed it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmmidwesterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent food, decent atmosphere, so-so service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Reykjavik Nordica so we had breakfast here every morning, and I have to say the breakfast was great, if not expensive (about $30 per person).

However, we stayed here one night for dinner because we didn't have time to go downtown. The wait staff were somewhat rude (didn't give us menus, ignored us, spoke somewhat snidely), but seemed to cheer up as the night went on and were very helpful by the end. The wait was longer than we liked but hardly unbearable.

The food was great. I had Atlantic cod (for old time's sake, really. I'm Canadian and we don't get cod much these days), and it was cooked and served well. Being able to charge it to the room is handy as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aidski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Transformed at night.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

The Hilton Hotel restaurant is like a war zone at breakfast with everyone fighting for use of the one toaster or access to the "hot" breakfast buffet. Hoards of weekenders pushing, shoving and shouting is not a good start to the day!!!
However, in the evening a change of lighting gives a different ambience and we chose to eat here for an anniversary dinner. We pre-warned the executive chef of one vegetarian diner and he pulled out the stops to produce a very imaginative 5 course dinner to match the special Surf and Fun menu that was being promoted for one week. Full marks for creativity. The waiting team were very helpful and knowledgeable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pttbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Hilton Nordica Hotel has an surprisingly good restaurant. In a dull setting the chef and waiters produces the most excellent dishes. our waiter showed a high standard of expertise, friendliness and timing. The prices would not scare anybody.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MortenL850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VOX Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to VOX Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing