We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veggie friendly for a hot meal on a cold day!”
Review of Kryddlegin Hjortu

Kryddlegin Hjortu
Ranked #60 of 463 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Hello, we have something for everybody, we have our famous Soup and Salad Buffet. Now our Menu has grown. Now we have Mexican Fiestas, Indian specials, Amazing Fish Dishes and our gourme Lasagne Veggie or Beef. Our Chicken is Free range from Isfugl. Our food is made love and healing. Our Saladbar is unlike anything, we have a great selection and always 4 soups 2 Vegetarian and 2 Chicken soups and on Thursdays we have our famous Lamb Soup. Hverfisgata is open Mon-Tuesd-Wedn from 11:30 - 21:00 and at Thurs-Frid-Saturd 11:30 to 23:00 and Sundays 17:00-22:00.
US
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Veggie friendly for a hot meal on a cold day!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Veggie friendly, 2 soups out of 4 are vegan, also comes with ad lib gluten-free bread on the side with hummus spread.
Salad bar to me was not worth the extra.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MockinJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    130
    25
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Hearty soups & a decent salad bar”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was on the pricier side of our lunches, not too crazy but it was about £10pp. The soups they had were Icelandic lamb soup, carrot & coriander, peanut chicken, chicken noodle. I expected the soups to be quite liquid and smooth but were all filling on their own let alone with the salad bar and bread.

Decent place, the decor is nice - sort of Moroccan & ethnic. Seemed there were more locals than tourists eating there, which is never a bad sign in my experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reensx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty soups and amazing homemade bread!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I went here for one meal on my recent trip to Reykjavik having found out about it on Tripadvisor. It's exactly as everyone else describes it, good value and a choice of four homemade soups and a fairly good salad bar. I went for the mushroom soup and whilst it was a bit on the salty side, it was delicious. The salad was fairly standard. The real winner is the tasty homemade bread and humus. I would have no hesitation in going back again if I visit Reykjavik another time! There were plenty of locals here, which I liked. Not just a tourist hot spot!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious, hearty, welcoming and value”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Off the main road, and not in the most salubrious of locations. However..... Pretty elementary place and menu. no complications. Clean and well presented. Helpful and pleasant staff. The food was nice but quite basic. All homemade soups with four choices. The breads, salads and dips were very tasty. Happy to reccomend and would return again if we were to return to Reykjavík.

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Confused food and salty”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Classified and a vegetarian and seafood restaurant, neither of which is of great quality and of abundance on the menu. Mexican and Indian food also on the menu. I had the cod with tandoori sauce which tasted odd, there were too many confused flavours and super salty. My wife's soup was also super salty. Not recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wushuplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kryddlegin Hjortu also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Kryddlegin Hjortu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing