We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“super”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kryddlegin Hjortu

Kryddlegin Hjortu
Ranked #37 of 462 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Soups, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hello, we have something for everybody, we have our famous Soup and Salad Buffet. Now our Menu has grown. Now we have Mexican Fiestas, Indian specials, Amazing Fish Dishes and our gourme Lasagne Veggie or Beef. Our Chicken is Free range from Isfugl. Our food is made love and healing. Our Saladbar is unlike anything, we have a great selection and always 4 soups 2 Vegetarian and 2 Chicken soups and on Thursdays we have our famous Lamb Soup. Hverfisgata is open Mon-Tuesd-Wedn from 11:30 - 21:00 and at Thurs-Frid-Saturd 11:30 to 23:00 and Sundays 17:00-22:00.
france
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“super”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

fresh salads, great soup, cheap price, service so friendly. Not a place to stay long but really good restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank celine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    125
    25
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menfi, Italy
Level Contributor
119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good buffet, suitable for vegetarians but not only”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I went there for lunch and had the "soup and salad buffet". Very high value-for-money (1,990 ISK per person). I tried everything: from the hummus to the apples with almond milk, and, of course, all the soups available (4). Everything tasty and fresh in the "all-you-can-eat" way. The vegetarian choice is appropriate and never boring or sad.
The only comment I have is about the noodles: they were actually spaghetti... and overcooked. But it's Iceland, not Italy :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonio_best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Soup Queen of Iceland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great food with a view of Faxafloi (though I hear they are moving downtown soon). They have a very small menu, but it is all good. Very vegetarian friendly. Most people go for the soup/salad bar. Their soups are amazing!
We tried everything and never had a bad meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank esperantisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Reykjavík”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The food is absolutely delicious and i doubt that you will find a cheaper quality restaurant in Iceland! Great service and great ambience, i recommend the all you can eat soup and salad buffet! :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AKSamuels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing choice of soups and salads!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Also try the fish with mango sauce.
This restaurant is very reasonably priced (not only by Reykjavik standards).
There is soup and salad buffet for around $15 and you are encouraged to try all the soups (all of which were wonderful). The lady who helped us was genuinely enthusiastic and incredibly friendly.
The restaurant wasn't crowded and the view of the ocean is also great.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kryddlegin Hjortu also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Kryddlegin Hjortu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing