We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant with a good view”
Review of Kryddlegin Hjortu

Kryddlegin Hjortu
Ranked #64 of 486 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Hello, we have something for everybody, we have our famous Soup and Salad Buffet. Now our Menu has grown. Now we have Mexican Fiestas, Indian specials, Amazing Fish Dishes and our gourme Lasagne Veggie or Beef. Our Chicken is Free range from Isfugl. Our food is made love and healing. Our Saladbar is unlike anything, we have a great selection and always 4 soups 2 Vegetarian and 2 Chicken soups and on Thursdays we have our famous Lamb Soup. Hverfisgata is open Mon-Tuesd-Wedn from 11:30 - 21:00 and at Thurs-Frid-Saturd 11:30 to 23:00 and Sundays 17:00-22:00.
Seville
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with a good view”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I went in for lunch on our first day in Reykjavik. The salads and soup looked good but we went for a very tasty beef lasagne with salad and bread. With a couple of hot drinks it came to about £20 for the two of us. A comfortable place with very friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnMacSeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    134
    25
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A great little find”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We ate here as it was opposite our hotel and saved us a walk into the city. What a fantastic place! Although the menu choice is not massive, the food that is available is of exceptional quality and value. Service was with a smile and we were made to feel welcome from the moment we walked in. A soup and salad buffet was enjoyed by 2 of our party with 4 different soups and a multitude of salads available. Other dishes on the night included fish with couscous and lasagne. We were surprised how cheap the food was and our only disappointment was that it was closed on a Sunday, meaning we could not go back the next night! If you're in Reykjavik, make a point of eating here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank matth2715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“High quality organic food, excellent value.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Although this restaurant is a little out of the way, it is well worth the stroll.
There's a very good and tasty salad bar and a choice of 4 delicious soups, delicious home made bread and garlic butter. You can taste all soups if you wish. I went several times and always found different tasty soups of high quality.
Only thing missing on their wine-list is an organic wine. Icelanders are not that much into wine although there is a nice selection of wines and even a few organic wines to be found in the Reykjavik wine store.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcelinoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, view and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We tried this restaurant for the first time on Wednesday and were very pleased we did. The quality of the soups and salads and the value for money were superb. There are always four soups to choose from (you can have a little of each) and a great salad buffet with fresh bread and humous. All of this for under £10. The view of the sea and the mountain is spectacular and the interior is decorated in a way which is electic, warm and welcoming.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kay186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best food in Reykjavik”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Delicious soups and a rich variety on the salad bar with hearty bread and delicious dressings- always filling and completely satisfying; an absolutely ideal vegetarian meal, every time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cybele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kryddlegin Hjortu also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Kryddlegin Hjortu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing