We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, view and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kryddlegin Hjortu

Kryddlegin Hjortu
Ranked #38 of 462 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Soups, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hello, we have something for everybody, we have our famous Soup and Salad Buffet. Now our Menu has grown. Now we have Mexican Fiestas, Indian specials, Amazing Fish Dishes and our gourme Lasagne Veggie or Beef. Our Chicken is Free range from Isfugl. Our food is made love and healing. Our Saladbar is unlike anything, we have a great selection and always 4 soups 2 Vegetarian and 2 Chicken soups and on Thursdays we have our famous Lamb Soup. Hverfisgata is open Mon-Tuesd-Wedn from 11:30 - 21:00 and at Thurs-Frid-Saturd 11:30 to 23:00 and Sundays 17:00-22:00.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, view and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We tried this restaurant for the first time on Wednesday and were very pleased we did. The quality of the soups and salads and the value for money were superb. There are always four soups to choose from (you can have a little of each) and a great salad buffet with fresh bread and humous. All of this for under £10. The view of the sea and the mountain is spectacular and the interior is decorated in a way which is electic, warm and welcoming.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kay186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    125
    25
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best food in Reykjavik”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Delicious soups and a rich variety on the salad bar with hearty bread and delicious dressings- always filling and completely satisfying; an absolutely ideal vegetarian meal, every time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cybele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Healthy is not a bad word!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This one has it all.. good healthy food (organic), lovely mountain-ocean view, relaxed atmosphere (nice music), very friendly owner..

loved it!!

P.S
we´re going back for lunch today..

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mishmishilicous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nondescript but don't be fooled, you'll want to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We decided to go here as we wanted a relaxed eating experience, and salad. It's odd but we really craved salad, kind of funny that. Anyway, as advertised they had four soups, a salad bar and great bread. It's all you can eat but the food is hearty and one round was all I needed. The food is also a very high quality so you won't be disappointed. The hostess was great and we got a great tale about her trip to Vancouver. All in all, it was a great experience and it certainly didn't kill our wallet. The meal is 16$ CDN and then add drinks so in Iceland $50 CDN for a couple with alcohol, not bad at all.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
138 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Good home-style food at affordable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This restaurant has great views of the bay and the spectacular mountain beyond. There is also a view of the popular walk around the edge of the bay.
The dining area is comfortable, spacious and mainly simply furnished (but with chandeliers).
The restaurant requires payment when ordering. Choices are limited - because food is cooked to order. There is a very good salad bar that provides a good meal (especially for vegetarians) in its own right. A popular option is soup and (unlimited) salad. We usually had fish and salad. The fish was fresh and well prepared. There is one beer on tap with more in bottles and a range of wine. There is a limited range of desserts - but hadn't got room to try them after salad and a main course.
The restaurant closes at around 21:00 hours and has a strong following among locals. The restaurant is further out of town than the address suggests - street numbers are out of sync with even numbers being closer to town than odd numbers. It is still not far from the main tourist areas.
Compared with restaurants in Reykjavik prices here were below average (except for drinks - which were average).
I found the staff friendly and helpful. (My companion thought them a little distant).
Overall, it was a pleasant place to eat with food well above average and prices below average.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kryddlegin Hjortu also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Kryddlegin Hjortu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing