We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent tours and stellar help in planning our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gateway to Iceland

Gateway to Iceland
Book In Advance
More Info
$124.00*
and up
Small-Group Golden Circle Tour and Secret Lagoon Visit from Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gateway to Iceland operates Day Tours, Northern Lights tours and arrange Holiday Packages for travelers to Iceland. We are a tour operator and inbound travel agent. We plan complete tour packages for groups and FIT's to the country. This includes all ground transportation, hotels, activities and even meals if desired. All ground packages are personally planned and arranged for individuals, couples, families or any type of group. No packages are "standard", all tours are designed individually at no extra charge. We welcome your query to us at anytime should you be contemplating a trip to Iceland.
portland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent tours and stellar help in planning our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We are just back from a short holiday (3/24-3/27) in Iceland. Our group, 4 adults and 2 children, have been to Iceland before with a very short stopover. We used Gateway to Iceland for our first trip in 2010 to make the most of our 48 hours on the ground. We decided to go back for a few days in March. I immediately contacted Gateway to Iceland to start our planning process in December. Our travel group isn't easy to please and we kept making plan changes. GTI worked with us for 3 months as we kept changing and tweaking the plans. They were always patient and extremely responsive to my inquiries and requests. We booked a private tour, a Northern Lights tour, and a south coast tour. The small vans keep the group size to a manageable number.

Private tour: exactly what we needed for our arrival day. We left from the airport and saw highlights of West Iceland and were delivered back to our hotel in the afternoon. A perfect start to our trip.

Northern Lights: The van was full for our search but better than a bus! Our search for the lights was successful. We talked to others that had gone out the same evening that weren't successful. Knowing where and when to look for the lights is critical for success. Our driver delivered both.

South Coast: the small group tour was great. The waterfalls, the beaches,the black ash, the glaciers, the geology of the area is fascinating. Our weather was as wet and windy and wild as anything I've experienced in years of travel but we still managed to enjoy the trip.

Gateway to Iceland also recommended a Reykjavik swimming pool as an alternative to the Blue Lagoon. We spend a couple of hours at Laugardalslaug in Reykjavik. It was a wonderful way to start our day.

Iceland and Gateway to Iceland have left a very positive impression on me (our planner) and our travel group. The best endorsement I can give is--I want to go back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank japsfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    749
    108
    26
    20
    22
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small groups are best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We did three tours with gateway while we were in Iceland and thought both the Golden Circle tour and the South Coast tours were excellent. See if you can go with Ronald. The guides both made an effort to incorporate extra activities because the weather was not great. We really enjoyed travelling with a small group and had a nice time getting to know other people on the tour. I don't think you can do that with a larger group. The only tour that was less successful was the Northern Lights tour. I understand that the lights are predicted on a scale of one to ten and the night we went it was definitely a one so not much of a thrill. I think it's more of a lottery than you think and they can't really commit that it's going to be worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
2 reviews
“Ask for Gummi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

If you are in Reyjavik and want to do the standard tour such as Golden Circle or the northern lights. This company has great staff, and their tour bus is not one of the gigantic ones where you will need to wait for the entire bus to get on and get off.
My friends and I hired them for the golden circle tour and our guide was Gummi(spelling) he was wonderful, extremely knowledgeable. I highly recommend them, if you book them ahead of time make sure to call them to reconfirm the night before.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rodan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Golden Circle Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Travelling with a young family is hard and we booked with GTice as they allowed young children and we were looking for a smaller tour rather than a large bus. On pick up our child seat would not fit the minibus so we assumed we wouldn't be able to take part but no, we were met by an alternative minibus taken to the office and then placed on a minibus with a car seat fitted! Can't say there would be many companies that would go through all of that to ensure we could go on the tour! We then caught up with our original group and had a great tour with our excellent guide Ian

Helpful?
Thank Loolalollipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor judge of weather conditions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

The trip started in a disorganised manner and didn't really improve. The driver seemed flustered by a change of vehicle at the last minute and a full bus of passengers with luggage. Other passengers raised concerns about a storm coming in and he said not to worry.

The sound system in the van didn't work and information couldn't be relayed easily. After the stop at the geyser we were told the weather was too bad to go to the national park and we could squeeze in a trip to the waterfall. The waterfall was amazing but we couldn't enjoy it fully as the weather had turned. We all climbed back into the bus to be told we would try to get back.

It seemed very disorganised waiting for the boss to give further instructions about a change of bus or change of route. We ended up off the bus in a cafe for half an hour. The customer needs reassurance at this stage!

We had an adventure! The driver was safe and we made it back. I was disappointed by the service and we would have probably been better off on one of the bigger tours. We paid extra for the personal service, but unfortunately due to circumstances didn't receive it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank joannelousieburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway to Iceland also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Gateway to Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing