We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good small friendly tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gateway to Iceland

Gateway to Iceland
Book In Advance
More Info
$124.00*
and up
Small-Group Golden Circle Tour and Secret Lagoon Visit from Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gateway to Iceland operates Day Tours, Northern Lights tours and arrange Holiday Packages for travelers to Iceland. We are a tour operator and inbound travel agent. We plan complete tour packages for groups and FIT's to the country. This includes all ground transportation, hotels, activities and even meals if desired. All ground packages are personally planned and arranged for individuals, couples, families or any type of group. No packages are "standard", all tours are designed individually at no extra charge. We welcome your query to us at anytime should you be contemplating a trip to Iceland.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good small friendly tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

During our stay in Iceland in Jan, we went on four tours with GTI (Golden Circle, South Coast and 2x Northern Lights) and all the tours were excellent. We were picked up from our hotel at the times arranged and all the drivers were very friendly and knowledgeable. They operate using minibuses, not large coaches and this made the trips more enjoyable and allowed for minor detours if something interesting was spotted. I would highly recommend this company and would definitely use them again if we return for another trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truth1011, Director of Sales at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are lucky to have such knowledgeable guides who love to go the extra step to make our tours more enjoyable. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    108
    26
    20
    22
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great time in South Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Took the Gateway to Iceland South Coast tour on a cold windy day in early January. Our guide was a wealth of knowledge, sharing information of the Icelandic people, customs, history, and beliefs interspersed with jokes and his philosophy on life and love as he navigated icy roads through hurricane force winds to get us to the waterfalls, glacier, gorgeous black sand beach, and then back to Reykjavik.
Made what could have been a miserable day (considering weather conditions and the long drive) a lot of fun.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truth1011, Director of Sales at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. Wonderful to hear that our guide has made it a memorable trip for you, despite the strong winds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Golden Circle tour.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Small minibus tour. Very good. Our local Icelandic guide was very knowledgble with a voice you could listen too all day. He seemed to make sure he gave attention to everyone in the group. The weather wasn't on our side but we still had a lovely trip through the spectacular scenery and attractions. I know it's the standard tourist trail but there is a reason for that. The lamb stew at the Gulfoss Waterfall...lovely! More expensive than some but would recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lesleyjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truth1011, Director of Sales at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. You got a chance to experience the Golden Circle in a way that hardly any Icelander has unless he is a guide. I think we (Icelanders) are missing out. Glad you enjoyed your tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent private tours that go the extra mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

As a family of four we spent a week in Iceland and most days went out with GTI - including Golden Circle, Whale Bay, West, Southern Shore, City Tour, New Years Eve Spectacle and Northern Lights. The tours were great fun, very personal for what we wanted to see and do (and a few extra detours whenever time permitted)! Gummi, Bob and Oli the guides were knowledgeable and passionate about their country. They were flexible and organised each day to ensure maximum comfort and enjoyment. Iceland is beautiful, even when the wind is blowing a gale and its freezing, there is plenty of spectacular things to see - waterfalls, frozen rivers, walks in Icelandic forest, blue lagoon, black sandy beaches, historical viking buildings and more. We had early starts and late finishes and despite around 5 hours daylight they still managed to fit everything in. We were lucky on our last night to see the Northern Lights and had problems with our cameras, but Oli kindly offered to send pictures he had taken with us that night. One particular trip that blew us away was on New Year's Eve - we went to a huge bonfire and firework display and were then taken up to The Pearl (on a hill) from which we could see all over Reykjavik. From around 11.20pm the people of the City let off more fireworks than we have ever seen (possilby more than an Olympic ceremony!) - it was fantastic and a glass of bubbly at midnight made a wonderful start to 2014. Thank you Gateway to Iceland, you went the extra mile for us and we had a wonderul time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truth1011, Director of Sales at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that we managed to make your stay in Iceland a memorable one. New Years in Iceland is absolutely amazing :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evesham,uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Awful - avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We booked our airport transfer with gateway to Iceland ( shuttle) and paid and received a confirmation email. When we arrived at the airport at 11.35pm there was no one there to pick us up. In a mad panic I asked a couple of people standing around with boards but no one could help. In the end I decided to go and enquire at the fly bus desk. The lady there rang the telephone number I had for the shuttle company and handed me the phone. When I spoke to the guy he was half asleep. He then went on to say that he had completely forgotten to pick us up and that we should get the fly bus instead. Luckily the fly bus was still there so we hadn't missed it. I was totally aghast by having been ripped off and left abandoned in a foreign country. The next day I contacted the company and asked for a full refund and old them to forget the return trip as I could not trust them to pick us up. We paid for the fly bus on the return and I would recommend them. Today I received an email saying they would refund me the whole amount and an apology. However in the email he said he had an "understanding" with flybus and if you are the only people who have requested a transfer they normally made you use the fly bus instead!! ( however they never informed us they just didn't turn up!!) my advice....use the fly bus...they were fantastic and RELIABLE!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mellieha1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truth1011, Director of Sales at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We are truly sorry for this unfortunate mistake. We got permission to post the e-mail you got from Shuttle service.

The Letter:
Please accept our sincerest apologies for this unfortunate incident; it is completely inexcusable on our part. Your letter came in after office hours on the 31st and New Years day is a red holiday here in Iceland so there was no one here to take care of the matter sooner. We take full responsibility for this mishap and we have refunded you the 96 Euros you paid for the transfers. We sincerely hope you enjoyed your trip to Iceland despite this and go back home with many good memories from your visit.

We would like to explain the situation a little, especially in regards to the obvious misunderstanding about our collaboration with Flybus. We know it won’t make the situation better in any way but we would like you to know all the facts. We do believe in owning up to our mistakes instead of making up excuses. It is always better to be honest in our opinion even though it reflects badly on our reputation.

We do have an arrangement with Flybus regarding customers from a certain Travel Agency that if there is only one or two of them coming in then they go with the bus, a setup arranged by the travel agency to minimize cost. We only handle their groups of three or more. So yes, we often refer people to them, per protocol, but not until the last possible minute in case we get more bookings from that flight and are able to join the two in one car. To the employees there that do not know of this arrangement it might look like we are taking care of mishaps at the last minute when it is not so. In few cases we have used them as well to take care of late additions from the Travel Agency.

Again we hope you will accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway to Iceland also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Gateway to Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing