We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northern Lights on October 2”
Review of Gateway to Iceland

Gateway to Iceland
Book In Advance
More Info
$124.00*
and up
Small-Group Golden Circle Tour and Secret Lagoon Visit from Reykjavik
More Info
$133.00*
and up
Iceland South Coast Day Tour by Minibus from Reykjavik
More Info
$95.00*
and up
6-Hour Trip to Reykjanes by Minibus from Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gateway to Iceland operates Day Tours, Northern Lights tours and arrange Holiday Packages for travelers to Iceland. We are a tour operator and inbound travel agent. We plan complete tour packages for groups and individuals to the country. This includes all ground transportation, hotels, and activities. All ground packages are personally planned and arranged for individuals, couples, families or any type of group. No packages are "standard", all tours are designed individually. We welcome your query to us at any time should you be contemplating a trip to Iceland.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I arrived to Iceland on October 2nd, and was so tired that night I almost didn't go. But since solar activity was high for the night I called Gateway to Iceland at 730pm to see if I could still book and they picked me up at approx 9pm. I can't remember our guides name (Borkur maybe?-ahh sorry) but he did an excellent job. He drove straight towards the airport because that was the best place for a hole in the clouds that night. We had about an hour and half show-words can't describe it. I feel like seeing the lights is all about luck-and I still can't believe I lucked out big time on my first night...if you have clear skies there is no point NOT to go give it a chance. Definitely a night I will never forget.

Thank Johnse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truth1011, Director of Sales at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your review, the northern lights are very unpredictable if you have good chance on your first night in Iceland take it, you never know what will happen the following days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

790 - 794 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We went on the glacier lagoon tour with GTI in October.the guide oli was very nice and told us alot about Iceland and chatted to us on the way back with interesting stories about his life.there were just two people on the tour with us,felt quite smug when we were leaving and seeing tour buses packed with people arriving at places.it is a long trip to glacier lagoon but it's worth it to sail among the icebergs.would go with GTI again if we returned to Iceland.

Thank nikkibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truth1011, Director of Sales at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. A day tour in a small group is a totally different experience :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We booked the northern lights tour with this company and we were lucky enough to see the lights on our second night out. On the first night we did not see any lights even with the skies clear. If you can´t see the lights, you can get a museum ticket or go out with them again another night free of charge.

Our guide on the second night Steinthor was really great, told us some amazing stories about his family, life etc. We had nice clear skies and saw the lights for a bit and took some great photos. Not the amazing display the forecasts were expecting though. As our guide said, you never know what´s gonna happen with the lights. Sometimes you can see gorgeous lights when the forecast is low. The northern lights are just a plus and you gonna be very lucky if you see them. Don´t plan your trip around them cause it is never sure.

I only gave 4 stars because of our first night experience. Not because we did not see the lights but because of our tour guide. Can´t remember his name, but his English was awful, the stories he told almost totally not understandable. I think he was just a quick solution driver because 2 minibuses went out that night. He followed the other one and clearly was not a qualified guide. He told us he does NOT know much about the lights and he works for the company just 3-4 days a year. So hopefully, you will get another driver/guide if you book :)

Thank Glemmy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truth1011, Director of Sales at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you second night was a success. We will address your concern in regards to the guide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We subscribed two tours from GTI, one was the South Coast Tour, and the other was the Golden Circle Tour. The bus was comfortable, and we had plenty of space to spare in the bus. The amount of people in our tour group was also small, only 3 couples for the both trips. The tour guide was very informative in the Golden Circle Tour, but explanation for South Coast Tour still have room for improvements. Besides the main attractions, we also had one extra out of schedule sightseeing for each tour, which was quite amazing and a surprise (I do not want to add spoilers here). The only downside was the amount of time for each site was too short for us, as we like to spend lots of time taking great landscape photographs of beautiful Iceland.

Thank LJ_Lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truth1011, Director of Sales at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your review, Icelandic nature is very amazing you could really spend many hours at one place photographing the landscape and always find a new angle to making every single photo unique :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The guides are really good giving a better more unique feel than a tape on a loop.We did the golden circle tour and the northern lights. The first tour Steinthor took us and we saw all the sights.He was great ,much good details and a visit to the old parliment ,Þingvellir National Park, Gullfoss waterfall, Geysir hot spring -strokkur,Skaholt church with its great stained glass and mural.Fab taste of Iceland.We also did the Northern lights tour. First day with Jacob nil cancelled for next two days and then we saw them with Steinthor and Harald. Tried hard to get a good picture with our camera.I cannot recommend this company highly enough. Thankyou one and all.

Thank GlasgowWinenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truth1011, Director of Sales at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and the beautiful photos, would you care to share? We would love to use your Northern Lights photos on our website and of course the pictures will be credited to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway to Iceland also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Gateway to Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing