We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous little place with seafood to match”
Review of SALT Kitchen & Bar

SALT Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #64 of 562 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $0 - $2
Description: Salt - Kitchen & Bar is a family run restaurant specialized in serving quality Icelandic seafood and lamb. We also offer three course set menu. We will be open during Christmas and New Years Eve. Opening hours: 11:30 - 22:00 (Sunday - Thursday) 11:30 - 23:00 (Friday & Saturday)
Restaurant details
Description: Salt - Kitchen & Bar is a family run restaurant specialized in serving quality Icelandic seafood and lamb. We also offer three course set menu. We will be open during Christmas and New Years Eve. Opening hours: 11:30 - 22:00 (Sunday - Thursday) 11:30 - 23:00 (Friday & Saturday)
Reviewed January 2, 2018 via mobile

Stopped here with my fiancé for a quick bite to eat, and wasn’t disappointed.

We had scallops to start with on a bed of cauliflower purée and pea shoots, beautifully soft and super delicious! Followed with a delicious well cooked burger and well cooked fish on a bed of roasted vegetables. We didn’t have desert but opted for a lovely spicy Cabernet.

Well worth the visit, and very friendly staff!

2  Thank Craggy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALTKitchenBar, Owner at SALT Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Hi Craggy,

Glad to hear that the quick stop at SALT Kitchen & Bar turned into a great experience with delicious seafood and great service :)

Best regards,

Gudmundur Palsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 214 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I visited on the last day of our 4 day trip to Reykjavík. I would highly recommend this establishment. Very friendly staff, beautiful food. Nice relaxed informal atmosphere, we turned up scruffy and in walking gear after a busy day out and about. Others were in similar attire so you don’t need to dress up. I had scallops to start, followed by the ling, both of which were wonderfully fresh and beautifully cooked. My hubby had langoustine soup to start followed by the ling too, and was equally impressed. Didn’t look at all the positive reviews until after I got back and just wanted to add another well deserved 5 star to this great restaurant.

Thank cranefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALTKitchenBar, Owner at SALT Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Hi,

Thanks for a great review.

Looking forward to see you guys again :)

Best regards,

Gudmundur Palsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2017 via mobile

We were keen to find something traditional and we found it here. I had the scallops to start and the other half had the langoustine soup. Both were delicious. We both went for the lamb which was incredible, the best food we had in Iceland. The staff were polite and helpful. A really nice, new restaurant with modern decor.

Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALTKitchenBar, Owner at SALT Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Hi Alex,

Thanks for your review.

Our focus is to serve Icelandic Cusine and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience at SALT.

Hope to see you guys again :)

Best regards,

Gudmundur Palsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2017

Went there with my girlfriend. We both had the three course menu with cured salmon, lamb & shank, and a brownie for dessert. Food was excellent and well prepared, staff was welcomming, polite and entertaining! Wine was good but the selection of it lacked a bit, but since it is a new place, they will probably add more wines to the cellar in the future!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2017

great fresh seafood! the real Icelandic experience. the burgers also look very ymmy! i give this the full 5 stars!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sigurður K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SALT Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to SALT Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing