We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fabulous day with a great guide

We had a wonderful day. Teitur came to our hotel in the morning and advised us the weather would be... read more

Reviewed October 18, 2018
Judy H
,
London, United Kingdom
Tour around Iceland for 6 days

At first we were recommended to call Teitur who said he was unavailable to help us. He had Aron his... read more

Reviewed August 31, 2018
hardy k
via mobile
Read all 24 reviews
  
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
24
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hordes of tourists magical country lava rock an unforgettable experience after midnight breathtaking scenery black sand beaches his passion amazing trip bad weather icelandic music great guide glacier hike south coast golden circle our tour guide northern lights
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 24 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2017

Four of us travelled to Iceland

Teitur was our guide in Iceland. We spent only four days there. However, Teitur's ability to impart his passion, knowledge and history of Iceland made it truly an unforgettable experience. Avoiding all those large bus tours, Teitur took us to beautiful places, breath taking scenery, glaciers, waterfalls and more. Flexibility allowed us to avoid bad weather by changing itinerary. I can't believe we saw so much in 4 short days and this was thanks to Teitur. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017

I had the opportunity to tour the south shore of Iceland with 3 friends guided by Teitur Torkelsson. It was an memorable experience thanks to Teitur's extensive knowledge of the history and the landscape. I highly recommend his services.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank fernstimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

Our friend set up a private tour with Teitur for 3 of us in June 2016, at the height of tourist season. We spent 8 days with Teitur, getting to know Iceland, its history and its lore. Teitur is not only knowledgeable, and passionate about Iceland and its history, but was able to create an unforgettable experience by keeping us mostly away from the hordes of tourists. unless we asked to go to famous tourist sites.

He spent time before we left emailing us about what we wanted to see and our expectations. We emailed back suggestions and together we created an itinerary.

Teitur picked wonderful diverse places to stay and discover and because we were flexible he would check weather and easily changed itineraries if we were headed into bad weather. We hiked in the mountains and felt very safe with Teitur, from established trails to new locations we discovered that were merely sheep trails with beautiful vistas and no one else around.

Whether it was hiking in breath taking scenery in the mountains or hiking on a glacier, walking on black sand beaches alone, or enjoying dinner and drinking "Brennivin", Teitur became not only our guide and teacher, but our trusted friend and companion.

Iceland is incredible and was made even more so by traveling with Teitur.

Date of experience: June 2017
4  Thank norman b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

We had the great fortune of having "Teitur" pronounced "Tator" as our guide/chauffeur for 11 wonderful days! We were taken care of in every way possible. We went to places and saw things we would have never found on our own!

Our days usually started at 9:00 a.m. Till 10:00 p.m. It really just depended on the weather most days. We typically had our days planned out, unless weather dictated we do something else that day. We would then do our original planned day, usually the next day. Everything was at our leisure and pace! We even did a whale watching tour that left the dock at 10:30 p.m.,which didn't get back til after midnight.

We did a glacier hike one morning, just the five of us. We were the only people out there for about an hour or so. It was one of the most beautiful, peaceful things I have ever done. As we were leaving, we probably walked past a hundred (several bus tours) or so people going to the same glacier we had left. I guarantee those people did not have the same incredible experience we had. This was the case as with most of the places we visited. Very few people did we see, other than at the waterfalls where the giant busses could go.

Just amazing service!!

Thanks "Tator" for the greatest Iceland Adventure!!

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank MatthewBMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017

When It comes to outdoor experiences in this beautiful country, look no further. I was lucky enough to spend a day with Runar Omarrson. He took me through the backcountry of southern Iceland, showing me both the most pristine destinations, untouched by tourism, and the classic spots that all foreigners love. Runar is an amazing dude who knows so much about this country. His english is perfect and he was able to educate me on the intricacies and history of each respective adventure that speckled are fun filled day. 10/10 would recommend to anybody looking for an amazing day in an amazing country that is so hard to navigate without a proper guide.

Date of experience: August 2017
3  Thank ethanweinberg43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews