We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly an unforgettable experience with Teitur”
Review of Iceland Unplugged

Iceland Unplugged
Ranked #128 of 289 Outdoor Activities in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Premium guided tours, with us you’ll take the road less travelled, discover hidden sweet spots, avoid crowds and get closer to nature while also checking out the more popular must see natural wonders of Iceland. The often unpredictable weather can play a large role when traveling in Iceland, so flexibility and experience can be the key to a great trip. Exquisite gourmet meals, local delicacies & drinks included. Big fun on private tours, and in small groups. Our mission is to maximize the value of your time in Iceland.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

Our friend set up a private tour with Teitur for 3 of us in June 2016, at the height of tourist season. We spent 8 days with Teitur, getting to know Iceland, its history and its lore. Teitur is not only knowledgeable, and passionate about Iceland and its history, but was able to create an unforgettable experience by keeping us mostly away from the hordes of tourists. unless we asked to go to famous tourist sites.

He spent time before we left emailing us about what we wanted to see and our expectations. We emailed back suggestions and together we created an itinerary.

Teitur picked wonderful diverse places to stay and discover and because we were flexible he would check weather and easily changed itineraries if we were headed into bad weather. We hiked in the mountains and felt very safe with Teitur, from established trails to new locations we discovered that were merely sheep trails with beautiful vistas and no one else around.

Whether it was hiking in breath taking scenery in the mountains or hiking on a glacier, walking on black sand beaches alone, or enjoying dinner and drinking "Brennivin", Teitur became not only our guide and teacher, but our trusted friend and companion.

Iceland is incredible and was made even more so by traveling with Teitur.

Date of experience: June 2017
4  Thank norman b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hordes of tourists"
in 2 reviews
"magical country"
in 2 reviews
"lava rock"
in 2 reviews
"an unforgettable experience"
in 3 reviews
"after midnight"
in 2 reviews
"breathtaking scenery"
in 2 reviews
"black sand beaches"
in 3 reviews
"his passion"
in 2 reviews
"amazing trip"
in 2 reviews
"bad weather"
in 3 reviews
"icelandic music"
in 2 reviews
"great guide"
in 3 reviews
"glacier hike"
in 2 reviews
"south coast"
in 2 reviews
"golden circle"
in 3 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 2 reviews
"northern lights"
in 3 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 24 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

We had the great fortune of having "Teitur" pronounced "Tator" as our guide/chauffeur for 11 wonderful days! We were taken care of in every way possible. We went to places and saw things we would have never found on our own!

Our days usually started at 9:00 a.m. Till 10:00 p.m. It really just depended on the weather most days. We typically had our days planned out, unless weather dictated we do something else that day. We would then do our original planned day, usually the next day. Everything was at our leisure and pace! We even did a whale watching tour that left the dock at 10:30 p.m.,which didn't get back til after midnight.

We did a glacier hike one morning, just the five of us. We were the only people out there for about an hour or so. It was one of the most beautiful, peaceful things I have ever done. As we were leaving, we probably walked past a hundred (several bus tours) or so people going to the same glacier we had left. I guarantee those people did not have the same incredible experience we had. This was the case as with most of the places we visited. Very few people did we see, other than at the waterfalls where the giant busses could go.

Just amazing service!!

Thanks "Tator" for the greatest Iceland Adventure!!

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank MatthewBMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017

When It comes to outdoor experiences in this beautiful country, look no further. I was lucky enough to spend a day with Runar Omarrson. He took me through the backcountry of southern Iceland, showing me both the most pristine destinations, untouched by tourism, and the classic spots that all foreigners love. Runar is an amazing dude who knows so much about this country. His english is perfect and he was able to educate me on the intricacies and history of each respective adventure that speckled are fun filled day. 10/10 would recommend to anybody looking for an amazing day in an amazing country that is so hard to navigate without a proper guide.

Date of experience: August 2017
3  Thank ethanweinberg43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

If you ever wanted to experience everything that Iceland has to offer : Glaciers, icebergs, volcanoes, lava tubes, hot springs, geysers, etc. this is the best way to do it. A Tailor-made guided tour de force. The best equipment, facilities, vehicles, and most importantly expert guides - make for an unforgettable experience. I have travelled to more than 50 countries and this was one of the most memorable adventures.

Date of experience: May 2017
3  Thank Ilya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2017

Teitur is the most exceptional tour guide in the business. He knows everything about the magical country that is Iceland and better yet, will take you to the most magnificent spots while still avoiding other tourists. I've sent over 10 friends his way, and even had my parents spend a few days with him recently. I only wish I could clone him for every other country I visit.

Date of experience: July 2017
3  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iceland Unplugged also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Iceland Unplugged? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing