We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Trip with Teitur”
Review of Iceland Unplugged

Iceland Unplugged
Ranked #128 of 289 Outdoor Activities in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Premium guided tours, with us you’ll take the road less travelled, discover hidden sweet spots, avoid crowds and get closer to nature while also checking out the more popular must see natural wonders of Iceland. The often unpredictable weather can play a large role when traveling in Iceland, so flexibility and experience can be the key to a great trip. Exquisite gourmet meals, local delicacies & drinks included. Big fun on private tours, and in small groups. Our mission is to maximize the value of your time in Iceland.
Reviewed September 4, 2017

My husband and I spent a truly amazing week with Teitur in Iceland. Despite inclement weather, Teitur brought us to the heart and soul of Iceland. We visited remote areas and there was always something unexpected; from revealing a nest of tiny just hatched chicks with their eyes not yet open, to descending between the tectonic plates to hidden thermal pools. Taitur is not only world famous in Iceland- he is totally fun, flexible and worldly.

Date of experience: June 2017
3  Thank Sandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hordes of tourists"
in 2 reviews
"magical country"
in 2 reviews
"lava rock"
in 2 reviews
"an unforgettable experience"
in 3 reviews
"after midnight"
in 2 reviews
"breathtaking scenery"
in 2 reviews
"black sand beaches"
in 3 reviews
"his passion"
in 2 reviews
"amazing trip"
in 2 reviews
"bad weather"
in 3 reviews
"icelandic music"
in 2 reviews
"great guide"
in 3 reviews
"glacier hike"
in 2 reviews
"south coast"
in 2 reviews
"golden circle"
in 3 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 2 reviews
"northern lights"
in 3 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 24 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2017

Teitur is simply the best. My wife and I have toured with him twice now, and both trips were some of the most memorable we've ever had. We constantly talk about how we can't wait to go back and tour with Teitur and Iceland Unplugged, and we're hoping to make it happen soon.

We were first connected with Iceland Unplugged / Teitur after scouring the internet for a company that would take us to the glacial lagoon in a one day trip. Teitur was the only person we could find - and we instantly booked the trip due to all of the positive reviews we found about him. Not only was the glacial lagoon as magical as the pictures hinted, but Teitur also showed us so many more amazing spots - like waterfalls, lagoons, black sand beaches, etc - that we instantly knew we had to come back to Iceland as soon as possible. So we decided to go back a year later (and link up with Teitur once again, of course).

For our second trip, we brought along two friends. We told Teitur to "show us some things we've never seen before", and he didn't disappoint. We explored caves, glacial tubes, glaciers, abandoned planes, and once again visited the glacial lagoon that connected us with Teitur in the first place. We also saw a ton of northern lights. Teitur is great as spotting them when it gets dark out (and the rest of the group is asleep in the car).

Since touring with Teitur, I've recommended countless friends and family members to him for their Iceland trips - and I continue to do so to this day. I simply can't recommend this company enough. If you're going to Iceland, you need to connect with Teitur and Iceland Unplugged. It'll be one of the best trips of your life.

Date of experience: March 2017
3  Thank mmignano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017

I went twice on a tour with Teitur and he is just fantastic. Always in a good mood, he knows tons of interesting things and enjoys telling them to everyone, always in a captivating way. He showed us around, driving us to beautiful places where there was no one else. I always felt safe and our trips were amazing !
I definitely recommend going with them :)

Date of experience: June 2017
3  Thank Mathilde P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017

Our family of four adults (one a grandmother over 75) and one teen recently spent the better part of a week based in Reykjavik. We took day tours with guide Teitur to all the classic sights: Golden Circle, glacier walk on Solheimajokull, Seljalandsfoss and Skogafoss waterfalls, Rykjanes Peninsula and the Blue Lagoon. Teitur quickly assessed us as a family and tailored the touring days to our interests and needs. Even though there were hordes of tourists in the area, we spent a great deal of time in quiet, serene places with plenty time for hiking, experiencing the lava rock and moss landscape and learning a great deal about Iceland, past and present. When we did stop at a crowded tourist attraction, it was done efficiently. We were always given suggestions for how to see the sight best and where to get the best vantage point.Teitur was an outstanding guide. We couldn't have asked for more!

Date of experience: August 2017
4  Thank mfox619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2017

Our family visited Iceland in August 2017, and we were extremely fortunate to have Teitur as our guide for three days of tours out of Reykjavik. Each day had a wonderful blend of top sights as well as more hidden gems with fewer people but just as amazing scenery. We met Icelandic sheep and horses up close, saw beautiful waterfalls (including a picture perfect rainbow), skipped rocks in secluded lakes, hiked on a glacier and learned so much about the Icelandic countryside and its culture. We all want to visit again and would love to have Teitur as our guide!

Date of experience: August 2017
3  Thank sandiegotravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iceland Unplugged also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Iceland Unplugged? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing