We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartment in a great Neighborhood!”
Review of Kalli's Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalli's Apartments
Ranked #49 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed at Kalli's apartments for 2 months while i was doing a Ballet/Art Project in Reykjavik, and i loved it. My apt was fantastic, and i got to use the backyard too, which was amazing.

Systa and her family were delightful, friendly and Helpful.

The apartment is perfectly located just outside of Downtown in my favorite neighborhood in Reykjavik, Vesturbae. Its quiet and a family neighborhood, just a few blocks from all shopping, food and restaurants.

You can stay in a Hotel, or stay at Kalli's apartments, and feel like you are at Home...

Cheers, Joe Ritter

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Kalli's Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 81 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed June 25-28th at Kalli's apartments. The apartment was very large with beautiful furnishings, a fully equipped kitchen, very clean and above all an excellent bed that I wish I owned. The location was quiet and within easy walking distance to everything. The owner, Systa, a wonderful artist, was very kind and extremely helpful answering our many questions about, tours, Iceland and travel. When we return we will definitely stay at Kalli's. It is the best possible apartment!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenS32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

As first time visitors to Iceland we, a family of three, were conscious of the importance of choosing the right accommodation. We were pleasantly reassured by the response from Systa from the outset. Our initial enquiry was met with a warm, prompt response - a warmth which continued throughout our stay!

Systa's generosity of spirit and care for us was apparent from the outset. She picked us up from the bus station and took us back to the apartments in her own car, spent time explaining the layout of the apartments and gave us an early introduction to the local area, including introducing us to the local pizza takeaway! (200 metres from the apartment - well made and tasty!)

We stayed in Apartment 6 and instantly felt at home. Everything we needed was available with decor and furnishings providing a sense of comfort. Our young son slept on the sofa bed in the main lounge area whilst we enjoyed the comfort of the double bed in the separate master bedroom. The bathroom was adequate for our needs with lashings of sulphurous hot water instantly available - great shower! Systa's artworks make a pleasant addition to the apartment block and further the sense of being somewhere more than ordinary.

The location of the apartment is ideal, within easy walking distance of the city centre and shopping area with local convenience stores 5 minutes walk away. Getting out of town was made easy by the apartment's proximity to Highway 1. Our love affair with Iceland was enhanced significantly by our feeling of being "at home" and for that we owe Systa our sincere gratitude and were honoured by her affection for us and her commitment to our enjoyment of her native land.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank trickytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I was seven nights in August with the family. Apartment clean and comfortable in an excellent position to visit Reykjavik. Together with the availability and kindness of the owners make it a top choice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank massimo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

It was so nice to stay at Systa's!
Kalli's appartements (now at Barugata 19) was a nice experience. The place is very functional with kitchenette in each appartement, the location is close to "downtown Reykjavik" and only 25 minutes walk from the Coach terminal with the airport busses. The landlady, Systa, is an artist and a very warm, humorous and openminded person. I really recomend it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We just got back from our stay at Kalli's and can not say enough about Systa and the apartments. We stayed in number 6 and 7...they were clean and had everything you needed to cook breakfast, lunch and dinner. The supermarket is a 5 minute walk, it's a great location, close to the harbor too. The tours pick you up at your door and drop you off. The beds are so comfortable and the apartments very roomy. I know one day soon we will be back and I will be staying here again, it's as cozy as home :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonKel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at Systa's over the new year in a beatiful apt. on Barugata in Reykjavik. It was clean with everything you need to cook a meal. The mattress was great and the area very quiet even though it is only 3. min. walk from downtown. Petursbud (convenience store) is one block down and you can park your car on the street. We met Systa and she was wonderful in every way.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor and all the rooms looked great.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoddasinnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Eyja Guldsmeden Hotel
#6 of 54 in Reykjavik
219 reviews
Hotel Klettur
#31 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,610 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
942 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 54 in Reykjavik
657 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalli's Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalli's Apartments

Address: Storholt 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $132 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kalli's Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalli's apartments are located in a quiet street in the center of Reykjavik, only a few minutes walk from the Municipal Art Gallery, the main shopping street, the bus terminal and the National Theater. There are a number of restaurants, bars and supermarkets within walking distance. There is wireless Internet access. The apartments are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kalli's Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing