We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glaetan Cafe Bistro Book Shop - CLOSED

Glaetan Cafe Bistro Book Shop
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: American, Cafe, European
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating
favaios, portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice and Cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice and cozy place to grab some food in Reykjavik.
Their list is not expensive, as in other places in Reykjavik.
Service is good and waiter are nice.

We had some burgers and cake for desert (cakes were really nice).

It was also our first contact with the water request in Iceland - forget asking for bottled water: tap water is free in Iceland and tastes extremely well and much better than the majority of bottled waters I've bought in other places.

If we go back to Iceland, this is one place to go!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jdaniels007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy coffee house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

After walking all over Reykjavik and spending an arm and a leg over mediocre (at best) meals, all we were looking to do was find a cheap soup to fill and warm us up. We stumbled across Glaetan and saw that for 1090 ISK you could score a bowl of the soup of the day and bread. Seeing as that day's offering was tomato soup, we decided to pay an extra 500 ISK for the Icelandic fish stew. Boy was that a good idea. It came with salad as well as bread, and was covered with a layer of broiled cheese on top. Not to mention that the stew itself was hearty and delicious, not at all too rich. Our waiter was kind and very attentive. Nice little quiet find. Would come back here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average, don't order pasta”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were in iceland for our anniversary, and chose this restaurant as it looked busy and the menu looked good, we both ordered pasta, mine was literally penne pasta with a thin cheese sauce/liquid, and a piece of brown toast as garlic bread, although my husband enjoyed his pasta, his tasted more like what I expected mine to be like than what his should have tasted like!! Each dish cost us roughly £12!!
And they don't serve any alcohol?!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megan777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The fish soup was incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The prices on the outside menu were quite decent for Reykjavik. So we gave it a try thinking it would be hamburgers that night. It became impossible forgo the fish upon looking at the menu. The fish of the day came with a lobster based soup. Probably one of the best fish based soup dishes I've eaten in my life. The fish of the day was also very tender and tasty. I ended up craving fish soup for a few days afterwards. The service was a bit more attentive than the norm in Reykjavik. Unfortunately never got to try their breakfast menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RGauvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good coffee, nice surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Pleasing, restful place, but it doesn't open until 10 a.m., although it advertises breakfasts. A good place to rest up from arduous shopping or to have a snack with friends.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glaetan Cafe Bistro Book Shop also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing