We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That Lobster Bisque!”

Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron
Ranked #42 of 483 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“That Lobster Bisque!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just what you need after a cold day on a boat! Big bowl of soup and deliciously fresh bread. YUM!

It's not a fancy place by any means, but if you like seafood, you won't be disappointed. Love that there's no menu, just the fresh fish set out in the refrigerated shelving, ready to cook.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheGinGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,568
    1,126
    315
    73
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great seafood, informal dining”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We visited the sea baron on recommendation from a friend.
It is an odd little building if you don't know what to expect, but with some great seafood. There is a fridge counter with lots of fresh fish kebabs on display which are all cooked fresh. We had a salmon kebab, a blue ling kebab and lobster soup. All really tasty, freshly cooked and quick service! For a quick informal reasonably priced meal I would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nutty_wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Getting worse”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We really liked this place last time we visited Iceland and food here was much better. This time lobster (which is not really a lobster) was too soft and amount of veggies in the soup was too big. Please bring back old quality...

Helpful?
Thank PeteHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is the best lobster soup i've ever had this past summer, very unique, had some shrimps too which was great served with unlimited bread . I will savour this memory forever.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sakuramelodymusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Islip, New York
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Perfect place for seafood”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Several different people recommended this restaurant to us during our stay in Reykjavík. Our local tour guide, the front desk staff at our hotel, and a personal friend all sent us to the same restaurant. I must say we were quite satisfied with the meal and the atmosphere. It was extremely casual, even to the point where it appears to be a fish store as opposed to a restaurant on one half. The cat fish, whale and lobster soup were all delicious. Prices were reasonable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank donna2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing