We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good! Don't miss it.”

Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron
Ranked #43 of 486 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“So good! Don't miss it.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Awesome lobster soup, scallops, whale steak (I know, controversial, but had to try it. Delicious.) This place is a must if you are in Reykjavik. It's just a little hole in the wall, but the seafood is fresh and fantastic. Cheap, too. Get the lobster soup and a kabob of fresh fish or scallops. They serve beer, too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kmacaluso84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,571
    1,131
    315
    74
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a great place . We loved the food and the wax work model of the sea baron is very quirky x especially when he pops up unexp”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Superb food . Fun setting . Great staff . Good price for Iceland . The wax model of the owner was a surprise . I only have good tho gs to say and really looking forward to a return visit .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
809 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
“Good food and nice people!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Friend recommended this place boy it was amazing. The lobster soup, halibut skew, I also had just a bite of whale meat which tasted like beef with sea water, weird.
There are more dishes available you can also order salmon, scallop skew!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Sea Baron is charmingly casual, and the curry lobster soup is a great value and beyond delicious. Combined with some of the tastiest, freshest bread I've ever had, this simple cheap meal is the perfect thing for a damp chilly Icelandic evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The World's BEST Lobster Soup”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I stopped at the Sea Baron while in Reykjavik because we had heard that the Lobster Soup was a must try. We are glad we stopped! This unassuming little restaurant nestled right by the Reykjavik harbor was one of the most incredible seafood experiences I've ever had! My girlfriend and I ordered two bowls of the lobster soup, they were served promptly with huge loaf of bread and butter.

The soup was absolutely delectable. The savory morsels of lobster were perfectly seasoned and paired perfectly with the tomato and cream base. On the wall by the counter, there's a write up by Mark Bitmann of the New York Times calling Saegreifinn's lobster soup the best in the world. He was definitely right.

After the soup, we had to have more so we ordered a grilled cod kebab - again, it was excellent. The cod was some of the freshest I've had and it was delightfully seasoned.

If you're in Reykjavik, even for a quick stopover, you MUST stop here! It is not to be missed while in Iceland!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaneSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing