We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciously casual”

Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron
Ranked #45 of 463 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
200 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Deliciously casual”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

You will find many seafood varieties already skewered up almond with veggies. You pick it out and they will grill it up for you. Try the lobster while you wait. Yum yum

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SH1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,471
    1,069
    296
    71
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lobster soup and scallops”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great restaurant and reasonable price for Iceland. You must get the lobster soup! And the scallops were amazing! The atmosphere is eclectic...I would classify as a bit of a dive (I love this style of restaurant). Best place we ate in Iceland!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ktwaack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seafood lover, don't miss this place, it's a great one”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had a lobster soup and some whale on a stick, and it was really delicious. The soup comes with some bread and butter, plus you have some Islandic sauce with the whale. It was very tasty and the place is really special, it was a fish shop before and the owner started to cook his fish for some tourists, then the fisherman started to be famous for his cooking skills and turn his shop into a restaurant! very good value!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank superquicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a special restaurant”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My expectations were high as I had read about the lobster soup in this restaurant beforehand. The interior is simple, but very charming and homy. Though the restaurant was packed, we luckily had a reservation for our big group on the 2nd floor. The lobster soup was exquisite! Likewise the whale meat that followed. The rest of the food and vegetables where also very good. I recommend to order a table beforehand as the restaurant was completely full.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaalHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice seafood”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We tasted the classic - the lobster soup+fresh bread, redfish skewers and the big grilled halibut. Loved everything. Its pricey, but thats true for everything in Iceland.
Loved the atmosphere - very special. Service was quick but we did not go in rush hours.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DBarnali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing