We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Butterfly Guest House is very clean and comfortable and conveniently located guest house.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reykjavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butterfly Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Reykjavik is a very lovely, walkable city with lots to do. While staying in Reykjavik at the Butterfly Guesthouse I was in a comfortable and clean private room with a desk, double bed and internet access and my room as well as another guest room shared the bathroom. The bathroom was always clean. Private rooms with bath included and small apartments are also available here. A communal kitchen with cooking utensils and cheese, bread, cereal and milk along with other goodies was always available. The owners were also generous with their time to answer any questions I had, which allowed me to explore the region with more confidence. The next time I go to Reyjkavik I plan to stay at the Butterfly Guest House.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynPA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 155 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2010

From the first contact the owner Jon proved to be helpful, humorous and serviceminded. He readily provided useful and reliable info for our trip whenever asked. Jon cares for his guesthouse in the same way he cares for his guests - with genuine, lasting respect and love. We always received more service than we expected. We rented a car from Jon for the first days exploring the south coast of Iceland, returned to a hearty welcome w schnapps and enjoyed our nights and mornings in very comfortable and quiet surroundings while exploring in and around Reykjavik. Later we hiked Laugarvegurinn, and returning to civilization we again were welcomed with a warm smile, schnapps, a warm shower, and wonderful beds. Whenever I go to Reykjavik again (this was my fifth visit and I will go again) Butterfly Guesthouse will be my home.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClausMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

After spending 4 days at Butterfly Guesthouse I can only recommend it to others. The service is friendly, the breakfast large and good (selfservice ind a nice kitchen), the rooms are good and the beds has just the softness you'll need after a long day exploring Iceland.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamillaMVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

My wife, 13-year-old son and I stayed two nights. The room was very clean and comfortable. It was a five minute walk into the center of town. The owner was very helpful in arranging transportation for us and providing us information. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsg1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

The location is really great for getting to the city center. The rooms are very small. The shared bathrooms are fine. There is a shared kitchen but no sitting room so one is forced to stay in a tiny room if at the B&B. Basically you get what you pay for with a very good location

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank rweis1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights. Owner arrived early to let us in as we had an early flight. Close to centre of Town and plenty of Parking. In my experience you get what you pay for. Value for Money

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

My husband and I researched a lot for a reasonable place to stay since Reykjavik can be quite expensive, and it was our first trip to Iceland.

We spent our first few nights at the Butterfly Guesthouse which was clean and comfortable. It has a shared kitchen with breakfast basics (ie fruit, cereal, milk & full kitchen with pots, pans, dishes etc). It also has on-site laundry facilities for guests and the owner is quite accommodating.

The floor we stayed on had several rooms with private toilets, but we all had to share the shower, which was the only (and very small) inconvenience. But if you coordinate things right with the other guests, you can work around it.

We would recommend it to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CriticInOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,837 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#5 of 109 in Reykjavik
483 reviews
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Blue House
#10 of 109 in Reykjavik
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Guesthouse

Address: Ranargata 8a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing