We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butterfly Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reykjavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butterfly Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 106 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

My partner, myself and our two and a half year old daughter were fortunate enough to stay at this beautiful guesthouse for a few nights just recently over mid-late November. We were fortunate as Jon and his wife decided to keep the guesthouse open this winter. The guesthouse has several very cosy but spacious rooms with lovely fittings, clean and warm bedding, central heating, with share bathrooms and two apartments upstairs with their own en-suites and kitchenettes. There is a downstairs living area and kitchen as well for guest use. The Guesthouse is very reasonably priced, central but also situated in a quiet area. All that aside, the attraction is the warmth of the experience which is provided by the gracious and welcoming owners, who themselves are an absolute wealth of information in guidance in regards to your trip in Iceland. This Guesthouse will be your starting point to a most warm and wonderful experience in this amazing country.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    38
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
65
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in Butterfly Guesthouse in August. The room was cosy and clean. So that we felt at home. The breakfast was great! With everything you need.
Jon and Olafia the owners are really kind and helpful. Next time in Reykjavik we'll certainly stay in this cosy guesthouse again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara_worldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here for 4 nights while staying over for the Reykjavik Half Marathon. The guesthouse is very comfortable and cosy and very close to the city centre and a really good swimming pool with hot pools. The hosts John and his wife were very friendly and helpful.

There is a nice help yourself breakfast and even second breakfast if you are still hungry.

When we were there there was a street party with John invited us along too :-)

I would totally recommend staying at the Butterfly, its awesome

Dean and Gillian
Edinburgh
Scotland

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanocarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our party of 3 adults spent 3 nights in the Butterfly Guesthouse in August of 2013 and we would highly recommend it to other travelers. The location is excellent as it is in a quiet neighborhood just a few blocks west of the tourist information center and within easy walking distance to all of the key sites in the central part of the city. This is a particularly good place to spend 2 or 3 nights before touring around the island. You can do without a car for the days you spend here (the Flybus from the airport will drop you off a few blocks away) but parking is available nearby if you have one. The guesthouse is clean, organized, and has a self-service kitchen that can help cut down on eating expenses. Breakfast is self serve with a good selection of fruit, cereal, milk, eggs and other foods and provides a good opportunity to compare notes with other visitors. Each guest room has a reserved shelf in a refrigerator as well as access to common food items and a full complement of dishes, pots and pans, and cutlery. Jon is a great host. He was quick to respond to all of our email prior to our visit and was willing to spend time talking about places to visit, Icelandic history, geology, and other topics. We felt welcome and comfortable from the moment we walked in the door and we will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the1woz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Butterfly Guesthouse in August. The room is nice, cosy and clean with a small but complete bathroom and a big shower. The place is very clean and all the facilities for breakfast are available. We rented also the camper for a 2 weeks tour around Iceland and it was even better. The camper was almost new and very well kept and equipped with anything you may need like linen, towels, kitchen equipment, cleaning items, detergents etc.
Jon and Olafia are really great, they stayed in touch with us while we were around Iceland sending us mails with suggestions on what to visit, weather forecasts etc.
Next time in Reykjavik we'll undoubtedly go again to Butterfly.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CannaLucente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Honeymoon in Iceland was amazing, but starting our trip at the Butterfly made it perfect! Jon & Olafia always had time to help set up activities for the day and answer all our questions. We found the Butterfly spotless, staff and guests very friendly, and close to everything you need. Their massive selection of Breakfast keeps you going all day, which makes it an easy decision to stay there rather than the hostel life of groceries... booo! Some good friends are heading to Iceland this year and we told them they must stay at the Butterfly. Give it a chance for one day and you will fall in love. I wish you all safe holidays.
Brandy & Leslie

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norangdal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We felt really welcome at Butterly Guesthouse. The hosts, Jon and Turid, were very helpful with advice about what to do and where to go. We also had good communication on e-mail with Jon before we arrived.
The guesthouse is central located, but in a quiet street with no noise from traffic or resturants/bars. Walking distance to good restaurants, the harbor, the culture house "Harpa", and the city center. The airport bus stops nearby the Guesthouse.
Jon helped us rent a car. The appartments and rooms are modern, clean and well kept. They serve a traditional Icelandic/Norwegian breakfast; bread, jam, cheese, coffee, milk, juice. We really recommand staying at Butterfly Guesthouse, and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a bit small, so if you need or want space for example for luggage, we would re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oddhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#3 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Captain Reykjavik Guesthouse
#4 of 106 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Guesthouse

Property: Butterfly Guesthouse
Address: Ranargata 8a, Reykjavik, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing