We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal apartment experience - great value.”
Review of Einholt Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Einholt Apartments
Ranked #33 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Paris, France
1 review
“Personal apartment experience - great value.”
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Excellent value for the very reasonable rates. Feels more like a personal apartment than a commercial hotel. For one night, 3 of us stayed in one apartment with a luxuriously-sized living and dining area and 2 bedrooms, each with 2 beds. Another night we were in a smaller 2 bed studio, but with enough room for the 3rd bed they brought in for no charge. Kitchen areas have ample stocks of juice, fresh milk, etc for breakfast and microwave, etc for preparing other meals. Except for outside surfaces of window glass, all was very neat and clean and quiet, including the refrigerators. Wifi was fine. The owner/manager and staff are friendly, accommodating, and exceptionally responsive and helpful. They let us store extra bags several days while we toured Iceland. One receptionist took time to point us to some sights not in the guidebooks. Easy walk to city center, but distant enough to be very quiet. Although it is not a major hotel, the airport bus service is door to door. Highly recommended, including for families with children or teens

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierreJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    141
    73
    23
    13
See reviews for
82
147
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
China
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

People say "never say never", but we can definitely say that never book and never stay at this horrible guesthouse. Poor location, noisy, poor service, no reception, expensive, horrible breakfast, fragile beds ....... If you want to have fun in iceland, please don't stay at this guesthouse. We will definitely warn our friends and other travellers not to book and stay at this guesthouse!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Panda_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

A relatively cheap price attracted me to this hotel/guesthouse but I probably should have paid a bit more and gone up-market slightly. The room was OK despite being on eye level with the pavement outside. It was reasonably clean and the supplied breakfast is OK. There was plenty of hot water and the kitchenette adequate for our purposes. I gather they keep the costs down by basically having no desk staff. This is OK to a point but trying to get things fixed (like a new bulb for the bedside light) simply isn't easy. You're welcome to use the washing machine and drier but climbing over bags of rubbish and piles of laundry down to the basement isn't really my style.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minegeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2010

me and my girlfriend we stayed in dungeon room on the basement. same level as the road and our window was facing to street. so view of shoes. Please make sure which room you are booking.

some of the things didnt work as they promised.
--> WIFI didnt work in our room (it only works in some rooms). Please ask them if that particular room has WIFI or not. even though they state in the website wifi works in everyroom no it desnt.

--> Our room didnt have any cloth hangers, when we asked about it through a written post it note to reception, didnt get any reply.

--> the discount codes on their brochure is not working. they wrote that you would get 5% from some day trips with this code, but once we called they said the codes are invalid. So Einholt guesthouse is not updating its brochure

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angarali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We visited Iceland for 4 days and stayed at Einholt Guesthouse. It was super. It was a convenient walk to city center shops and restaurants. The room was spotless and in all our travels it was the most comfortable bed I've slept in. There was no staff on site but were only a phone call away. The breakfast food was in kitchen when we arrived and was replenished on day 2. The place was quiet too. An all round great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravel060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

I can't say enough about this guesthouse. Amazing location, just blocks from the shopping, restaurants and bars on Laugavegur. Amazingly affordable for the value. Whenever we needed anything, staff was very friendly and helpful, and got us what we needed right away. The rooms were spacious, and we loved our little kitchen. The breakfast materials were delicious and versatile. We were there for several days, and they allowed us to use the washer in the basement for some laundry. The rooms were clean and simple. It is not glamorous, but is comfortable, modern, accessible to everything, and it made our stay in Iceland even better. Free wireless was also a plus. When we return to visit again, this is our place!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjf13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

This apartment made our trip all the more homely and memorable - just great!

Excellent standard, very nice big rooms, clean, practical with kitchen + all appliances. Tea, coffee, & breakfast in the fridge, filled up when finished.
Furniture trendy minimalistic, simple but with style. Favourite feature is the high table in front of the floor length bay windows with a view of the sea and the peninsula north from Reykjavik. We were on the 3rd floor.

Location is perfect, at the end of the main shopping street, close to all major sights in city. 2min walk from a main bus station, supermarket (open till 23.00). Close to a swimming pool. Flat is in a well secured building, central but quiet. Cold outside (1st May - 6 C) but nice and warm inside. Can't think of any critiques - apart from that the flat kept us from going out to town a few of the nights - couldn't resist staying in for a few quiet drinks enjoying the gorgeous view and lights from ships.

Service - excellent and personal. Booking was flexible due to flight cancellations during the ash-disruption, catered for our needs and requests with generosity. Staff very hospitalible like all Islandic people we came across, warm, friendly, generous and trustful. Concept is great, self catered, free phone service at reception, coded entry, most things can be managed by yourself and if not staff arrives within a few minutes. There was also free internet access but unfortunately during our stay it was in the process of being replaced.

Overall, great place great value, I would happily come back to stay again and recommend it to anyone who enjoys an bit of independence and privacy on your holidays.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampsteadOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
912 reviews
Stay Bolholt Apartments
#32 of 110 in Reykjavik
159 reviews
Miõborg
Stay Apartments Grettisgata
Stay Apartments Grettisgata
#44 of 106 in Reykjavik
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Alfred's Apartments
Alfred's Apartments
#27 of 106 in Reykjavik
126 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#10 of 106 in Reykjavik
1,093 reviews
Apartment K
#17 of 106 in Reykjavik
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Einholt Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Einholt Apartments

Property: Einholt Apartments
Address: Einholt 2, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Einholt Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Einholt Apartments. Einholt is a modern apartment hotel located in Reykjavik city center. Einholt Apartments is the perfect choice for the independent traveller wishing for the comfort of a hotel and the privacy of a home. Einholt is a modern designed apartment hotel offering 23 practical and comfortable fully equipped self-catering apartments from studio to three bedroom apartments. All apartments include a fully equipped kitchen and a shower bathroom. Interior is newly renovated from top to bottom. Towels and linen is provided. Non-smoking apartments only. Flat screen TV. Free high-speed wireless internet connection in all apartments. Free telephone and computer in the lobby. Plenty free parking spaces in front of hotel. Ideal for long or short stays. Einholt Apartments have 14 double studio apartments, 3 family studio apartments 4 one bedroom apartments, 4 two bedroom apartments, all with twin / double bed and 1 three bedroom apartment. In order to offer low prices lobby staff is almost none existent but any necessary information is conveniently located in the lobby. We use modern technology to check guests in and you can use the free telephone in the lobby to contact us at anytime. Free wireless internet in all rooms. Plenty of free parking spaces. We will send you email with very simply check in instructions after booking along with other useful information. Location/located near: Einholt is located in a quiet area just a few steps away from the busy shopping street Laugavegur. A 10-minute stroll down Laugavegur takes you to the lively part of down town with stores, restaurants, cafes and bars. The street then takes you to the heart of Reykjavik. Hlemmur, the bus main terminal is also within 50 meters away, where you can catch a bus to anywhere within Reykjavik.Also within walking distance you will find Laugardalur, Reykjavik's biggest activity park offering a large swimming pool and hot tubs, Iceland's largest fitness center and spa (World Class), the Botanical Garden of Reykjavik, the Family Park, the Domestic Animal Zoo and the indoor ice-skating ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Einholt Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Einholt Apartments Hotel
Einholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing