We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A real steal in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Einholt Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Einholt Apartments
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real steal in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We recently rented an Einholt apartment rather than getting hotel rooms for our week in Reykjavik. It was a HUGE cost savings, gave us more space, and the building is located in a part of town with plenty of free, overnight parking. It's an easy (and fun) walk to the city center area. There's no lobby or reception area (and thus no one to talk to face to face about directions, questions, or problems) but we did fine on our own. The place was clean and modern, with a kitchenette (stovetop, sink, mini-fridge, and toaster; no oven or freezer compartment), two bedrooms, living area, and bathroom. There's also a great (but slow) Thai restaurant right around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    125
    59
    20
    10
See reviews for
75
126
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

These studios were modern, clean and very good value for money. It was perfect for a 3 night stay. They even had basic sugar, salt, oil and tea bags in the kitchenette which was very much appreciated. Even though the reception was never manned, we didn't have any problems and in self-catering accommodation I don't expect a manned reception anyway.

The location was perfect; just round the corner from the main shopping street, but in a quiet area. There was also excellent free parking and always spaces right at the front door.

Most importantly, the bed was very comfortable.

Don't be put off by the eggy smell that comes from the bathroom; that's not the drains, it's the geothermally heated water. We stayed in 4 different places in Iceland and it was all the same. You get used to it.

I suppose the only negative aspect was that the apartments were quite sterile, and did get quite hot unless you opened a window.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzycatpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Easy to get to by Flybus, close to the center and Hallgrímskirkja, and the nearest geothermal pool/spa is just a 5 minute walk away - all ace points in my book. We were two couples staying in the apartment and it seemed just perfect. Two bedrooms with attached bathroom, totally clean, easy to navigate. And as a bonus, the host/owner speaks great English. Communications before and after the booking were totally easy to follow.
A thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chhavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Maybe I'm not as fussy as other travellers. The building work didn't affect me at all(maybe because I've always lived in big cities), the bed was very comfortable and cooking facilities in a city as expensive as Reykjavik priceless. Excellent value for money I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were booked into a top of the line (we thought) apartment in Laugavegur. There was apparently an overbooking and when we arrived there was a note to move up the road to Einholt.
The owner DID supply a taxi.
The apartment was on the third floor up dirty concrete stairs with no proper lighting. There were power points hanging out of the wall. In the 2 bedroom apartment itself we found the dishes and cutlery had not been washed by the previous occupants.
There was a filthy dishcloth in the sink.
The lounge was dirty.
The room stank and we had to open a window so we could breathe.

There may be better class rooms in Einholt in a newer section of the building but these seemed to be only studios. It seems that these owners regularly overbook as there was another couple at Einholt who were being moved to a THIRD location. They were certainly not happy.

The location is very ordinary and is bounded by two building sites.
After making a serious complaint we were moved back to the very nice apartment we had actually booked in Laugavegur.
I must say that the owners were very responsive and helpful but the apartment we were put in was disgusting and it was very inconvenient even though we were given 50% discount on the night.

Room Tip: Do not book a room in Einholt. Be prepared to be moved to another building which it seems happens fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night at the very start of our self drive tour around Iceland. We arrived late due to a delay picking up our car at the airport and were a bit dubious about the unmanned reception. But we managed to get in to the apartment fine and it was lovely and warm. It was slightly on the small side, but we had an infant cot for our 5 month old so that took up a bit of floor space. The kitchenette was very basic - we didn't use it but I'm sure it would have been fine. We didn't really explore Reykjavik but it seemed to be in a central location. The apartment was clean and comfy and we had a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meganlgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Einholt Apartments is one property of a few different apartment style hotels. My friends and I booked this hotel for our trip to Rekjavik because we heard that the rooms were spacious and that it was located only a short distance from the city center.

We arrived earlier than the check-in time and the hotel staff was very accommodating. They actually said for a group of 4 people they had a room that would be ready in 20 minutes that was more spacious and closer to the city center. They sent a cab that had been pre-paid for to take us to the new location (Laugavegur Apartments). Upon our arrival the key to our room was waiting and there was a cleaning staff there to help us get settled.

We had a one bedroom apartment that had a full kitchen and living room. The bedroom had 2 twin size beds and then we had an additional twin size bed and a full size pull out couch in the living room. There is a washer/dryer on site and there were always clean towels at our disposal.

There isn't a lobby staff, but the phone in the lobby had a number we could call to be connected to Einholt Apartment staff members, who were always willing to help.

We couldn't have asked for a better location at Laugavegur Apartments. We were a 2 minute walk from the taxi station and bus depot and only a 5 minute walk to the heart of the city.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Laugaegur Apartments. The price was right, the room was clean and the staff was friendly and made themselves accessible to answer questions and help us out when needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 59 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
#7 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#39 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#5 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Einholt Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Einholt Apartments

Property: Einholt Apartments
Address: Einholt 2, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Einholt Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Einholt Apartments. Einholt is a modern apartment hotel located in Reykjavik city center. Einholt Apartments is the perfect choice for the independent traveller wishing for the comfort of a hotel and the privacy of a home. Einholt is a modern designed apartment hotel offering 23 practical and comfortable fully equipped self-catering apartments from studio to three bedroom apartments. All apartments include a fully equipped kitchen and a shower bathroom. Interior is newly renovated from top to bottom. Towels and linen is provided. Non-smoking apartments only. Flat screen TV. Free high-speed wireless internet connection in all apartments. Free telephone and computer in the lobby. Plenty free parking spaces in front of hotel. Ideal for long or short stays. Einholt Apartments have 14 double studio apartments, 3 family studio apartments 4 one bedroom apartments, 4 two bedroom apartments, all with twin / double bed and 1 three bedroom apartment. In order to offer low prices lobby staff is almost none existent but any necessary information is conveniently located in the lobby. We use modern technology to check guests in and you can use the free telephone in the lobby to contact us at anytime. Free wireless internet in all rooms. Plenty of free parking spaces. We will send you email with very simply check in instructions after booking along with other useful information. Location/located near: Einholt is located in a quiet area just a few steps away from the busy shopping street Laugavegur. A 10-minute stroll down Laugavegur takes you to the lively part of down town with stores, restaurants, cafes and bars. The street then takes you to the heart of Reykjavik. Hlemmur, the bus main terminal is also within 50 meters away, where you can catch a bus to anywhere within Reykjavik.Also within walking distance you will find Laugardalur, Reykjavik's biggest activity park offering a large swimming pool and hot tubs, Iceland's largest fitness center and spa (World Class), the Botanical Garden of Reykjavik, the Family Park, the Domestic Animal Zoo and the indoor ice-skating ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Einholt Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Einholt Apartments Hotel
Einholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing