We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good for the price, but not necessarily what everyone will be looking for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Einholt Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Einholt Apartments
Ranked #32 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good for the price, but not necessarily what everyone will be looking for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in einholt apartments for 4 nights in August 2012. I found them to be very good value - clean, close to both the sea front and town and the flybus serves it as part of the airport transfer.
We generally only used the apartment for sleeping and breakfast, but found facilities good, although quite small, which some may not like.
I would definitely recommend as an affordable place to stay, but would say that those expecting the hotel experience with a manned front desk will be disappointed (the only reason marked down on service score is due to this!)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    137
    71
    22
    13
See reviews for
80
144
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Room 102 is like the other 1xx-Rooms in the basement with one noisy window. The floor is under the street level.
- shower: the drain is blocked which floods the whole bath while taking a shower.
- the bath smells
- door fixation is broken (one could enter the room with a light footkick)
- one of the chairs is dangerously unstable

overall: close to the center but too expensive for what it offers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Abeille-Jaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed two nights at the apartments when visiting Reykjavik for a wedding. I stayed with my girlfriend, and the apartment was very comfortable - much better than a hotel room. When travelling, I would normally stay in a hotel, but saw that there were plenty of apartments in Reykjavik so thought I would give one a try. It was located fairly centrally - 20 minutes walk in - if you go the right way! The town is fairly small, so it's easy to get anywhere you like. The apartments themselves are not staffed all of the time, which the owner says saves costs, and you can see the benefits of that, as it is good value. Would recommend for a stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Room 101 - was our apartment number and it certainly was appropriate.

On first arriving the area & apartment block are somewhat uninspiring. However, you soon realise that you are very close to the main city centre shopping/tourist/entertainment area and that it's quite safe feeling and quiet. Having plenty of on-street parking available right outside the apartments was also a big plus. The apartment itself was clean enough and reasonably equipped. It was nice to have access to free laundry facilities and use of an internet connected PC in reception.

As mentioned above, the apartment was clean and generally nice enough but this room was probably the worst one they have. It's in the basement and is very dark and gloomy as the only light coming in was from very small windows up high. As well as being difficult to open/close they also looked out onto the street at feet level (the voyeuristic amongst you might like the view upwards!) This also meant that with the blinds open people could look directly down into the room. It was also slightly disconcerting trying to sleep when people were walking past above you. Also there is no extractor in the room and with the very small windows this meant that smells from cooking breakfast were still lingering defiantly when returning to the room in the evening. Generaly quite depressing and I certainly wouldn't recommend staying on this floor and in particular this room. Maybe I could have asked to move but as we arrived late and there are no reception staff we just wanted to get unpacked and settled in.

Room Tip: The basement/ground floor should be avoided. As the street is on a slope the further up the hill you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RepSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pixbo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We statyed at Einholt apartments two nights when we made a stopover on Iceland on our way to Canada. The appartments are well situated with walking distance to the town center.
The apartment was clean and well maintained, except the sofa that was a bit dirty/ worn. But over all we were please. Don't be surprised when you take a shower and it smells like of sulfur, it's not your body but the water :-).
There are several restaurants near within walking distance.
We ate dinner at a restaurant on the east side of Nóatún street between Brautarholt and Skipholt, it was very nice and we found the quality/price was very good (compared to Sweden).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erikvman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

It is convenient and the three bedroom allows a group to travel together. The free internet and wifi as well a the information for essentials light market and the free laundry makes it a good place to recharge before heading out into Iceland . Of course it is not 5 star but then why do you need to pay for five star when everything to do is outside the apartment

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

This place is grim. We had planned to stay here for a week but bailed after three days. The apartment building is in a rather rundown part of town. Our room, on the second floor near the lobby, looked out onto a gravel pit with concrete graffiti'd walls that was also a temporary construction zone. The apartment interior had been freshly painted and decorated but little could make up for the poor setting. Several things were also broken, like the wall clock whose battery had run out but could not be taken off the wall, and a stove light. The shower rod was new but hanging precariously. The overhead fan and kitchen light were on the same electrical switch so you could not run the fan at night without getting on a chair to take out the overhead kitchen light bulb. There's free laundry in the basement but it is a dank dark experience with one set of machines that are always full with someone else's clothes or the towels and sheets from the place. Internet access was generally reliable and we used it to book another place and get out as fast as possible.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank earthgirlcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Stay Bolholt Apartments
#33 of 108 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Miõborg
Stay Apartments Grettisgata
Stay Apartments Grettisgata
#49 of 100 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Reykjavik Apartments
#13 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Room With a View Apartments
#15 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Apartment K
#14 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Einholt Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Einholt Apartments

Property: Einholt Apartments
Address: Einholt 2, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Einholt Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Einholt Apartments. Einholt is a modern apartment hotel located in Reykjavik city center. Einholt Apartments is the perfect choice for the independent traveller wishing for the comfort of a hotel and the privacy of a home. Einholt is a modern designed apartment hotel offering 23 practical and comfortable fully equipped self-catering apartments from studio to three bedroom apartments. All apartments include a fully equipped kitchen and a shower bathroom. Interior is newly renovated from top to bottom. Towels and linen is provided. Non-smoking apartments only. Flat screen TV. Free high-speed wireless internet connection in all apartments. Free telephone and computer in the lobby. Plenty free parking spaces in front of hotel. Ideal for long or short stays. Einholt Apartments have 14 double studio apartments, 3 family studio apartments 4 one bedroom apartments, 4 two bedroom apartments, all with twin / double bed and 1 three bedroom apartment. In order to offer low prices lobby staff is almost none existent but any necessary information is conveniently located in the lobby. We use modern technology to check guests in and you can use the free telephone in the lobby to contact us at anytime. Free wireless internet in all rooms. Plenty of free parking spaces. We will send you email with very simply check in instructions after booking along with other useful information. Location/located near: Einholt is located in a quiet area just a few steps away from the busy shopping street Laugavegur. A 10-minute stroll down Laugavegur takes you to the lively part of down town with stores, restaurants, cafes and bars. The street then takes you to the heart of Reykjavik. Hlemmur, the bus main terminal is also within 50 meters away, where you can catch a bus to anywhere within Reykjavik.Also within walking distance you will find Laugardalur, Reykjavik's biggest activity park offering a large swimming pool and hot tubs, Iceland's largest fitness center and spa (World Class), the Botanical Garden of Reykjavik, the Family Park, the Domestic Animal Zoo and the indoor ice-skating ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Einholt Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Einholt Apartments Hotel
Einholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing