We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Elding Adventure at Sea tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Elding Adventure at Sea
from $102.00
More Info
from $102.00
More Info
from $229.00
More Info
from $59.00
More Info
Reviews (2,148)
Filter reviews
2,021 results
Traveler rating
1,089
542
204
108
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,089
542
204
108
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minke whales sea sickness whale watching white beaked dolphins sea birds warm suits killer whales harbour porpoise whale meat pod of dolphins great trip top deck boat trip marine life ticket office puffin tour three hours
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 2,021 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2017

We recently did the whale watch & (separately) the puffin watch.

The whale watch was well organised and had a knowledgeable guide on board. Unfortunately we only caught partial glimpses of any whales. I know there is no guarantee, but I have twice experienced much better sighting off Cape Cod with very close encounters. Sadly no real show this time off Reykjavik.

The puffin watch was a big disappointment. The closest the boat got to the island was around 50/75 metres and you really needed binoculars to see anything other than birds whizzing past you. I managed to get a few pictures using burst mode (12fps) but overall it was not that good. Our expectations were much greater than the reality.

Thank Penylan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Penylan11,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with future travellers. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the tours.

As you say, these are a wildlife excursions and there are no guarantees, both in regards to the whales and Puffins.

In our opinion it is best to book a Puffin tour when the tide is low, that way our boats can get closer to the islands and give our passengers the chance to view the birds from closer proximity.

Although we operate the whale watching tours under strict code of conduct we do try our very best on each tour and even offer free return tickets in case of no sightings or if the tours are not up to our standards. It is however important to keep in mind that each tour is unique and on the animal's terms.

We hope you still enjoyed the sightings despite them not meeting your expectations.

All the best,
The Elding Reykjavík team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017

I was traveling with a friend and our children and this tour was really a hit with the kids.
They offer floating suits which keep you warm and safe. The night we went was quite cool and we were all happy to wear them. The staff is friendly and the boat was large so we had plenty of room to move about.
We saw lots of whales and birds..and the sky was beautiful throughout the night.
After the whale watching is over and the boat is heading home they have fun live music.

Thank ttravelerbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Dear ttravelerbug,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our Midnight Sun Whale Watching tour. Glad the sailing was a total hit with you and the children!

All the best,
The Elding Reykjavík team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

To be fair we have seen puffins in Newfoundland and whales in Newfoundland and in British Columbia. The boats and tour guides were good to excellent. The whale watching ship has lots of indoor seating with a coffee shop.

We saw puffins from a distance on the puffin tour (apparently the tide was out so we couldn't get close). There were 3-4 Minke whales and 2 Humpbacks on the whale tour. Two of the three hours of the whale tour is getting out and back to where the whales are (pretty standard)

Overall would recommend you do the tours only if you haven't seen these admittedly vey interesting animals in the wild before.

Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Dan G,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our services. Glad you understand the wildlife part of the tour and that it can take some time to get to a 'good area'. We certainly hope you enjoyed your time with us.

All the best,
The Elding Reykjavík team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017

I went to the Whale tour with Elding Adventures starting from Reykjavik Harbor. It completely exceeded all my expectations and I was left amazed at what I had seen. Within 15-20 minutes of leaving the shore we spotted a Minke whale. This was fun, and we followed it for a while! But the piece of cake was spotting a pack of 3 Orca Whales!! They were hunting together and soon we caught up-to them . Followed the Orcas from close up for an hour and a half. Saw them from within 100 m. The tour organizers were going crazy with excitement, apparently it is extremely rare to see 3 orcas hunting together like this, they say we had the luck of once in a ten year event. Oh what a day it was!! I was left amazed in wonder

Thank Abhimanyu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Dear bhimanyu B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. What a lucky thing to see - Orcas in summer is really unusual, however very welcome! Glad you were there to witness it.

All the best,
The Elding Reykjavík team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile

We did a puffin tour followed by a whale tour. There were a ton of puffins at the end of June and we could see them clearly on the island and flying past. Our guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and funny. For whales we got to see three of the four common types (didn't see a humpback whale). Almost all of the whales and dolphins end up near the front of the boat. The top front was packed so we braved the waves and went to the lower deck and had great views of the animals. The day we went out was calm and sunny so it was a delight to be on the water. I recommend this company and just know that you need to be in the front from the start and you will deal with pushy people.

Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Dear Rachel R,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review our tour. We're glad you found the perfect spot onboard to view the wildlife!

All the best,
The Elding Reykjavík team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews