We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant ”

Elding Adventure at Sea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Elding is a tour supplier in Reykjavik offering whale watching and other adventures at sea all year round. We are conveniently located just off Reykjavik's old harbor. The various types of whales commonly sighted include minke whales, white-beaked dolphins, harbor porpoises and the popular humpback whales. We will be accompanied by sea birds such as gannets, puffins, guillemots, cormorants, gulls, kittiwakes, arctic terns, and many more. Check our online Whale Diary for daily updates on whale sightings. To make our tours even more comfortable, we provide our passengers with warm (and floatable) overalls and raincoats. For safety reasons, all children under 12 years of age are required to wear life jackets during the tour.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

We booked a morning Whale watching tour with Elding and it turned out to be very rough seas and no whales or dolphins were spotted, obviously the tour is dependent on the animals themselves so this couldnt be blamed on the company. They were great though, we were offered complimentary tickets to go again and all along the way the staff were great and we were pre warned about the rough weather that caused a lot of people to be sick.

We went back two days later for the afternoon trip and this was amazing as we saw many dolphins and also minke whales, was a very successful trip and well worth going again to see the animals in their natural habitat

Thank Neil1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2016

Dear Neil1986,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour. We are so glad that you were able to use your complimentary ticket and that you got to see dolphins and minke whales! Thank you very much for the nice comments about our crew members!

Best regards,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"minke whales"
in 247 reviews
"sea sickness"
in 121 reviews
"whale watching"
in 352 reviews
"white beaked dolphins"
in 88 reviews
"sea birds"
in 69 reviews
"killer whales"
in 26 reviews
"sick bags"
in 17 reviews
"warm suits"
in 49 reviews
"complimentary tickets"
in 23 reviews
"harbour porpoise"
in 22 reviews
"whale meat"
in 23 reviews
"pod of dolphins"
in 28 reviews
"great trip"
in 88 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 19 reviews
"top deck"
in 29 reviews
"marine life"
in 22 reviews
"boat trip"
in 47 reviews
Filter

496 - 500 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2016

This tour with Elding from the old harbour in Reykjavic lasted about 3.5 hours and cost 9,900 ISK. Excellent tour guide giving a very enthusiastic commentary (in fluent English and German), on where to look to see the whales and dolphins. Lots of close sightings of White Beaked dolphins and some surfacing Minke whales. Also sighted Gannets, Fulmar, Guillemots and Lesser black back gulls. The guide also mentioned a sighting of Manx Shearwater. Only slight criticism was that the boat was very full and difficult to get to the front where the best sightings of the whales were to be seen. Refreshments on board. The weather was good and the sea was very calm. Very enjoyable trip.

2  Thank eric184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2016

Dear Eric184,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to read that you saw lots of birds, dolphins and minke whales and that you enjoyed your tour! Thank you for your comments!

Best regards,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2016

The sea was rough that day and we were hesitating, but they seemed to say that it shouldn't prevent us from seeing whales - I think they pretty much knew the chances were very low but didn't tell us. And of course we didn't see any whales. We saw a few dolphins - but obviously this is not at all what I wanted to see - the tour guy was getting excited about them....lol.

I have been on many boat tours and I tought the guide wasn't very good - not talking enough, not answering questions out-loud but to the person directly (so the other didn't hear the answer), repeting facts about birds, telling not-funny personnal stories which were supposed to be funny for him, etc. Overall it wasn't horrible but we had expected much more when paying about 80 EURO per person! For such a price we were expecting more and maybe a smaller boat with more opportunities to discuss with the guide. Here the boat was huge and with a lot of people. We saw other boats, all much smaller.

Also, I thought since we didn't see any whales (of course it's not their fault - they tried their best) - some partial refund could be given.

Would not recommend, except maybe on a day and season when you are guatanteed to see whales.

Thank Nicolas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Dear Nicolas B,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour. We are sorry that you were disappointed by your tour.

Weather can have an impact on the sightings, but it is not necessarily so. We had some great tours with lots of sightings even in rough weather conditions. We just never know what's going to happen!

Our tour guides are doing their best to give as much information as they can and make everybody as comfortable as possible.

Refunds are never given in case of no sightings. Instead we give a complimentary ticket valid for 2 years. This is clearly stated in our terms and conditions.

Again we are sorry that you were disappointed and understand you would have liked to see whales. But we are thankful that you understand we can't control that.

All the best,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016

We did the whale watching tour and as promised, saw whales! Make sure you dress VERY warmly. Worth doing if you have a few hours in Reykjavik.

Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2016

Dear Christinel1217,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour. You are absolutely right, dress warmly, it can get very cold on the sea, even with our warm overalls! We are glad that you got to see whales!

Best regards,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

This has always been a life long goal of mine. To see Whales in their natural environment.

The day with Elding was more than I could have ever hoped for. We stayed in Reykjavik so it was a short walk to the harbour where they are based. Everything you need is on board the boat- blankets, all in one suits to keep you warm, refreshments and toilets.

We were amazed that we go to see Minke Whales, Dolphins, Porpoise and a Puffin. It was really emotional to finally get to see them.

The tour is very well organised and the boat is very comfortable, clean and cosy.

I would recommend this tour as a must while in Iceland. We booked a whole day, Whale watching in the morning followed by Golden Circle in the afternoon. I would really suggest combining the two.

Thank R2012W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2016

Dear R2012W,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour. We are delighted to read that we were able to help you fulfil a life long goal and that you got to see whales in their natural habitat! Thank you very much for nice comments about our staff and our services!

All the best,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elding Adventure at Sea also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Elding Adventure at Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;