We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puffin tour”

Elding Adventure at Sea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Elding is a tour supplier in Reykjavik offering whale watching and other adventures at sea all year round. We are conveniently located just off Reykjavik's old harbor. The various types of whales commonly sighted include minke whales, white-beaked dolphins, harbor porpoises and the popular humpback whales. We will be accompanied by sea birds such as gannets, puffins, guillemots, cormorants, gulls, kittiwakes, arctic terns, and many more. Check our online Whale Diary for daily updates on whale sightings. To make our tours even more comfortable, we provide our passengers with warm (and floatable) overalls and raincoats. For safety reasons, all children under 12 years of age are required to wear life jackets during the tour.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Reviewed August 26, 2016

I had an hour before I had to go back for my flight, and did the puffin cruise. It was great. The naturalist was friendly and knowledgeable, and we got to spend most of the time watching the puffins, because their island was really close to the old wharf. I wish I'd had more time to do the full whale watch (which also includes sea birds), but this was a great last thing to do.

Thank dakane51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Dear Dakane51,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour! We are glad that you decided to spend your last hour in Iceland on one of our tours watching puffins! We certainly hope that you took off with great memories, and who knows, maybe we'll see you on our whale watching tour on your next visit to Iceland!

All the best,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"minke whales"
in 247 reviews
"sea sickness"
in 121 reviews
"whale watching"
in 352 reviews
"white beaked dolphins"
in 88 reviews
"sea birds"
in 69 reviews
"killer whales"
in 26 reviews
"sick bags"
in 17 reviews
"warm suits"
in 49 reviews
"complimentary tickets"
in 23 reviews
"harbour porpoise"
in 22 reviews
"whale meat"
in 23 reviews
"pod of dolphins"
in 28 reviews
"great trip"
in 88 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 19 reviews
"top deck"
in 29 reviews
"marine life"
in 22 reviews
"boat trip"
in 47 reviews
Filter

521 - 525 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile

We did whale watching and saw two mink whales, which was pretty cool and the guides were very informative, but I think the tour is so overpriced!

Thank Carolina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Dear Carolina W,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour. We are sorry that you feel that way about our pricing, but we are glad you were able to see 2 minke whales and thank you for your kind comments about our crew members!

All the best,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

This is a really good tour with brilliant guidance. Very well planned so everyone sees everything. Compared to some others there's a mass of info avaliable for interested people.

Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Dear Thomas A,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour. We are glad you enjoyed the tour with us and thank you for your kind comments about our services and our company!

All the best,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016

We did the fishing trip in August. First of all the boat and the crew were great (I've read some reviews of other companies where this wan't the case). I had never cuaght a fish in my life but within 10 mins all four of us had caught at least one fish and by the end of the 1h30 fishing we proably caught 30+ fish between us. We kept the bigger ones (Cod and mackerel) and threw loads back. The captain filleted some of the catch on the boat and cooked there in a BBQ on the way back and we took the rest of the catch home

Thank Cathal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Dear Cathal M,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our tour and that you caught so many fish! We thank you for the kind comments about our crew members and hope the fish was good!

All the best,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2016

Saw a number of dolphins, puffins, no whales :-(. Despite that unavoidable occurrence, I was impressed with the experience. Boat was well maintained, free Dramamine was provided ;-), and warm coveralls provided. I stayed on deck for 95% of the time and was toasty warm except for my hands (I should have brought gloves). What stood out for me was that despite the fact that she must have led many whale watching excursions, our guide was genuinely enthusiastic and kept us all engaged in the search.

Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016

Dear Sharon C,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour. We are very thankful for your kind comments about our staff members, our services and our company. It's really sad that you didn't see any whales on your tour, but are glad that you enjoyed it anyway!

All the best,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elding Adventure at Sea also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Elding Adventure at Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing