We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Northern Lights Night”

Elding Adventure at Sea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Elding is a tour supplier in Reykjavik offering whale watching and other adventures at sea all year round. We are conveniently located just off Reykjavik's old harbor. The various types of whales commonly sighted include minke whales, white-beaked dolphins, harbor porpoises and the popular humpback whales. We will be accompanied by sea birds such as gannets, puffins, guillemots, cormorants, gulls, kittiwakes, arctic terns, and many more. Check our online Whale Diary for daily updates on whale sightings. To make our tours even more comfortable, we provide our passengers with warm (and floatable) overalls and raincoats. For safety reasons, all children under 12 years of age are required to wear life jackets during the tour.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Reviewed February 23, 2016

We booked a Northern Lights tour with Elding and were really pleased with the experience. The boat was big and comfortably accommodated the group. They provide warm one piece coveralls that help keep you warm while you look for the lights. The guide was friendly and helpful, quickly pointing out where to look as the clouds rolled away and the lights began to play across the sky. She also took pictures that she later posted on Facebook so that those of us without proper cameras could have evidence of our experience.

Thank Fantajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2016

Dear Fantajan,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our Northern Lights cruise. We are glad you enjoyed the experience with us!

All the best,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"minke whales"
in 247 reviews
"sea sickness"
in 121 reviews
"whale watching"
in 352 reviews
"white beaked dolphins"
in 88 reviews
"sea birds"
in 69 reviews
"killer whales"
in 26 reviews
"sick bags"
in 17 reviews
"warm suits"
in 49 reviews
"complimentary tickets"
in 23 reviews
"harbour porpoise"
in 22 reviews
"whale meat"
in 23 reviews
"pod of dolphins"
in 28 reviews
"great trip"
in 88 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 19 reviews
"top deck"
in 29 reviews
"marine life"
in 22 reviews
"boat trip"
in 47 reviews
Filter

781 - 785 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2016

We were unlucky in that we did not see any whales / dolphins but as a first trip of this kind it did not disappoint. It was great to be out on the cold sea for a few hours and just experience it. The crew were great with plenty of commentary and information throughout, the warm clothing provided is excellent if needed, and you have a bar on board for small purchases.

The sea was quite rough so we were coached to another harbour and returned into Keflavik. This was all very smooth and easy.

Sea sickness tablets are available should you need them.

We received the 2 year complimentary return tickets and if we can make it possible....we will be back for sure!

Thank 1983mjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2016

Dear 1983mjs,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour. We are sad you didn't spot any whales, but we are glad and hopeful to see you back for a retry!

All the best,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2016 via mobile

We took the whale watching tour on Feb 16. Because of the conditions the boat sailed out of a different harbour ( kelfavik ) so we were bussed 45 mins to our destination. We took the advice of the staff and took the sea sickness tablet and put on the overalls provided. These did keep you very warm and dry so worth wearing. We sat outside for the full boat tour and listened to the info provided by the guide and even when the hail and snow started we were still warm and dry. The sea did get quite rough at points as the wind picked up. Afraid at the end of it all no whales, dolphins or porpoises were spotted but we still enjoyed the experience. And we have a ticket for a free trip should return.

1  Thank honestdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Dear honestdean,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour. We're glad you understand the wildlife factor of the tour and that you enjoyed yourselves despite not seeing any on the tour. We certainly wish to see you on a future tour!

All the best,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a 5-night stay in Reykjavik and booked with Elding to go whale watching.

Firstly, we didn't see any whales or dolphins. They are wild animals and therefore not going to be in the same place as the previous sighting, so seeing them is not guaranteed and we knew this before we booked the tour. So they offered us a free ticket to return within the next two years.

My rating is not therefore based on not seeing a whale, but more the tour itself. It seemed very chaotic with very little organisation. We had to sail out of a different harbour and so were loaded onto buses. Instead of organising this into an orderly queue, we were encouraged to board any bus and our bus driver ripped a piece off our ticket which he shouldn't have - this caused more confusion. Once on the boat, we weren't even out of the harbour and Megan (our guide) had advised on the refund policy (ticket for a return trip within 2 years), which felt a little as though she was managing our expectations while we were all still hopeful at seeing something! There also seemed to be a significant amount of upsell as well (drinks recommended for seasickness, the tour guide's own whale/dolphin book in the gift shop), which just felt unnecessary. Then to get off the boat you were herded through the gift shop. That said, they do provide overalls and free sea sickness tablets if you need them.

Overall, I would not recommend prebooking whale watching in Iceland. If you do want to do this, then I'd suggest going to the Elding ticket office before hand to understand if they've had any sightings recently and therefore increase your chances of seeing something. It is a long 4-5 hours otherwise! If you do choose to go whale watching, then I'd say Elding are good purely based on their refund policy.

Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2016

Dear Dan S,

Although we are glad you understand the wildlife factor of the tour, we are sorry that this was your experience.

We always try our best to go the extra mile for our guests, staying out longer to find whales or even departing from different harbours when the weather in Reykjavik is not too good. It's unfortunate that you were confused when when boarding the buses, but as you can imagine it can get a little hectic with over 200 people going on the same tour.

We certainly agree that it is good to come be prepared, for example by reading our Whale Diary before joining the tour or ask the staff what the conditions are like, recent sightings, where we are departing from etc. This way we can minimise disappointment and further educate our guests on what to expect from the tour. Our staff is very understanding and willing to assist in any way possible.

Your frustration of not seeing any whales despite our best efforts is understandable, but we do hope to see you on a future tour for another shot at seeing these magnificent animals of our waters.

All the best,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2016 via mobile

Went Whale watching with this company on the 16th February, we were bussed to another Harbour as the sea conditions were quite bad, they told us all to take sea-sickness pills and I declined(big mistake)
If you are ever told to do it then do it.
I spend the entire journey with my head down the toilet, as did several other people. Didn't see any wildlife but hey that's the chance you take. It was great to see the coast from way out at sea.
Cilla(think that's how you spell it) was our tour guide and her knowledge and banter with the customers was fabulous. Really took time to explain things throughly.
She made it very enjoyable.

1  Thank AshMac26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Dear AshMac26,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our tour. Sorry to hear you were ill for most of the tour and were unable to see any wildlife, but glad you enjoyed the commentary and service on board.

All the best,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elding Adventure at Sea also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Elding Adventure at Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing