We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Elding Adventure at Sea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Elding is a tour supplier in Reykjavik offering whale watching and other adventures at sea all year round. We are conveniently located just off Reykjavik's old harbor. The various types of whales commonly sighted include minke whales, white-beaked dolphins, harbor porpoises and the popular humpback whales. We will be accompanied by sea birds such as gannets, puffins, guillemots, cormorants, gulls, kittiwakes, arctic terns, and many more. Check our online Whale Diary for daily updates on whale sightings. To make our tours even more comfortable, we provide our passengers with warm (and floatable) overalls and raincoats. For safety reasons, all children under 12 years of age are required to wear life jackets during the tour.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Reviewed February 14, 2016

We were very lucky with the weather for whale watching and for searching for the Aurora Borealis. Saw the lights but were fairly static. You can't control nature. Still a good trip. A member of the crew recited some Icelandic poetry. Didn't understand a word but it was FABULOUS. Would love to know where to find poems.

Whale watching, unfortunately no whales, but plenty of white beaked dolphins. Long tailed ducks, gannets. A great experience. Can't wait to go again.

Would highly recommend both of these tours.

Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2016

Dear Gina A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on our Whale Watching tour and Northern Lights Cruise. We're glad you enjoyed the tours although sightings were scarce.

All the best,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"minke whales"
in 247 reviews
"sea sickness"
in 121 reviews
"whale watching"
in 352 reviews
"white beaked dolphins"
in 88 reviews
"sea birds"
in 69 reviews
"killer whales"
in 26 reviews
"sick bags"
in 17 reviews
"warm suits"
in 49 reviews
"complimentary tickets"
in 23 reviews
"harbour porpoise"
in 22 reviews
"whale meat"
in 23 reviews
"pod of dolphins"
in 28 reviews
"great trip"
in 88 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 19 reviews
"top deck"
in 29 reviews
"marine life"
in 22 reviews
"boat trip"
in 47 reviews
Filter

795 - 799 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2016 via mobile

We were told whilst out at sea that it wasn't the season to see whales had I known this before hand we wouldn't have gone , sea was rough and it gets very cold , didn't see anything

Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2016

Dear Amanda C,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're sorry that you didn't see any wildlife on the tour. The commentary on board explains the different whales we can expect to see in summer/winter, as there are whales in Icelandic waters year-round. We recommend having a look at our online whale diary where we post pictures and reports from the tours for a more realistic idea of what to expect.

All the best,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2016

Unfortunately we did not see any whales, so we got a free ticket to try again anytime in the next 2 years. BUT the tour was really well run, very warm suits given out to keep you toasty, all very well organised and the tour guide was very good. Can recommend the Whale Punch :-)

Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2016

Dear Rachel S,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our services. We are glad you enjoyed our tour despite not seeing any whales. Hope to see you back within 2 years!

All the best,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2016 via mobile

A great trip. Cilla I believe it was doing the commentary obviously has a very good knowledge of Iceland and the animals we were looking for. Happily we saw a Minke whale and a school of White Beak Dolphins. Fantasy day out great value. Thanks

Thank mattfishr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2016

Dear mattfishr,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed the tour with Minkes and dolphins!

All the best,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2016

An experience not to be missed. Unfortunately we didn't see any whales but did come across a lovely pod of dolphins which was a great experience in itself! A great guide Marcus who mixed fact and humour throughout. The crew do their utmost to try and find the wildlife and you can tell they genuinely care about the conservation of the whales and certainly get you thinking about this also.
Gets pretty chilly but overalls provided if wanted. You can also purchase a "Whale Punch" hot chocolate and rum which hits the spot!

Thank LJK_1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2016

Dear LJK_1390,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our tour. We are glad you enjoyed the playful dolphins and managed to stay warm outside in the cold by wearing our warm overalls and drinking the delicious whale-punch!

All the best,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elding Adventure at Sea also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Elding Adventure at Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing