We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but one major thing”

Elding Adventure at Sea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Elding is a tour supplier in Reykjavik offering whale watching and other adventures at sea all year round. We are conveniently located just off Reykjavik's old harbor. The various types of whales commonly sighted include minke whales, white-beaked dolphins, harbor porpoises and the popular humpback whales. We will be accompanied by sea birds such as gannets, puffins, guillemots, cormorants, gulls, kittiwakes, arctic terns, and many more. Check our online Whale Diary for daily updates on whale sightings. To make our tours even more comfortable, we provide our passengers with warm (and floatable) overalls and raincoats. For safety reasons, all children under 12 years of age are required to wear life jackets during the tour.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

This company is well organised, and the staff are very knowledgable. The boat was good and everything as it should be....but....

I think they should be clearer about the chances of actually seeing a whale. As the guide explained most species in local waters go somewhere else in winter. I think he said only 2 species remain in the winter months, orcas being one.

It's hard to criticise the whale diary on their website, which clearly says what they've seen each day. But a close reading of it reveals that in December 2014, for example there were actually very few days when they saw whales!

So why not say 'in the last 20 trips to sea we've seen whales X times'??? I think most people would find that very informative, and set expectations accordingly. Especially since everyone in Reykjavik seems to think the chances of seeing a whale are 90%..!!!! Not true....

The policy to give another ticket is very good.

Thank RobSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2015

Dear RobSnow,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our tour and for sharing your experience.

It is very evident that food in the bay has been scarce the past month or so and although we had great tours in the beginning of December with Orcas and Humpbacks, we have mainly seeing dolphins at the moment.

As our main goal is to be honest and truthful we agree that the lack of sightings should be more out there and therefore we have taken appropriate actions within our team.

All the best,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"minke whales"
in 247 reviews
"sea sickness"
in 121 reviews
"whale watching"
in 352 reviews
"white beaked dolphins"
in 88 reviews
"sea birds"
in 69 reviews
"killer whales"
in 26 reviews
"sick bags"
in 17 reviews
"warm suits"
in 49 reviews
"complimentary tickets"
in 23 reviews
"harbour porpoise"
in 22 reviews
"whale meat"
in 23 reviews
"pod of dolphins"
in 28 reviews
"great trip"
in 88 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 19 reviews
"top deck"
in 29 reviews
"marine life"
in 22 reviews
"boat trip"
in 47 reviews
Filter

1,199 - 1,203 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2014

Boat trip was really well organised. Modern well equipped boat with hot drinks etc available to purchase. Thermal suit's provided, it gets extremely cold out at sea in December. Saw 3 Orcas which was amazing. Thoroughly enjoyed the 3 hour boat trip. Excellent value for money, about £40. Would love to do it again in summer and maybe see some whales. It's a must do when in Iceland.

Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2014

Dear Jean B,

Thank you for joining our tour and for sharing your experience. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself on board, watching Orcas in their natural habitat. Hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2014

We did not see whales, so this does not help the review, but the guide kept the spirits high. Interesting info on whales and e.g. Whaling companies. We did see 6 dolphins, but looking at the for 20 minutes seemed like a waiste of time. Wear the suits! Large will fit you if your European size is medium to large to. The suit is so warm! Perfect. You can buy drinks and some snacks for reasonable prices on board. The toilets are smelly. Go on land.
We can go again, but for most tourists the two yead guarantee seems useless. Nice of them though. On the way back i stayed in front of the captains cabin. 5 people inside were all talking while i expected them to focus at the sea all the time. Did we miss whales because of that? We wonder

Thank Peteruga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2014

Dear Peteruga,

Thank you for joining our tour and sharing your experience. We're glad you enjoyed the commentary but like you of course we would have wanted to see more. It varies a lot between months what we see and it turns out that this December it's mainly been dolphins. What sightings we get we don't really know before hand as it's the wild nature. We'll surely have a talk with the crew as we agree that it's important to always be on the lookout for cetacean activity.

Kind regards,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2014 via mobile

This one is a hard to rate because we didn't see any whales. The trip lasted for 3 hours and although it was a mild day with calm water, out in the open it was freezing and sailing against the current created a very choppy experience. Though I was fine, my party were severely sea sick and spent the entire time staring at a mountain to avoid throwing up.

The guide was very informative but apart from the beautiful scenery, without whales it really doesn't have much to offer. We were however provided a free coupon to come again within the next 2 years.

Advice: if you are prone to sea sickness, take the pill they offer and plot yourself on the top deck at the back of the boat. Avoid the bottom deck near the bar as you will literally bounce completely off the floor.

1  Thank Tinuviel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2014

Dear Sidney C,

Thank you for joining our tour and sharing your experience. We are sorry to hear you didn't see any cetacean on the tour and a small advise is to check recent whale activity through our online Whale Diary before going on a tour.

Kind regards,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2014

We went out for the 1 o'clock trip and the temperatures were pretty mild. It was a clear day with calm waters, which was really lovely. There was great scenery and the staff were friendly and informative. Unfortunately we didn't see any whales, but we did see lots of dolphins, which was lovely. I get the impression that this is pretty normal for December, but nature is unpredictable, so worth a shot! Would recommend.

1  Thank fetlerfet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2014

Dear fetlerfet,

Thank you for joining our tour and sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed the tour and our service on board.

Kind regards,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elding Adventure at Sea also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Elding Adventure at Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing