We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience - highly recommended.”

Elding Adventure at Sea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Elding is a tour supplier in Reykjavik offering whale watching and other adventures at sea all year round. We are conveniently located just off Reykjavik's old harbor. The various types of whales commonly sighted include minke whales, white-beaked dolphins, harbor porpoises and the popular humpback whales. We will be accompanied by sea birds such as gannets, puffins, guillemots, cormorants, gulls, kittiwakes, arctic terns, and many more. Check our online Whale Diary for daily updates on whale sightings. To make our tours even more comfortable, we provide our passengers with warm (and floatable) overalls and raincoats. For safety reasons, all children under 12 years of age are required to wear life jackets during the tour.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Reviewed December 15, 2014

We sailed with Elding on 12th December and followed two Orcas in the Bay, which was an amazing experience. The spotter was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable and the Skipper of the boat respectful of the whales. Although we got fairly close to them, he ensured we gave the Orcas plenty of space and turned off the throttle to reduce the noise level. The company also requested that visitors did not buy whale meat in the City in order to reduce the level of whaling in the area. The flotation suits, which fitted over our coats, are an absolute must as it was naturally very cold. All in all this was an incredible experience with an experienced environmentally friendly company.

1  Thank lemonhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2014

Dear lemonhoops,

Thank you for joining our tour and sharing your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed the tour, it sure is hard not to when we've got orca's in the area. We appreciate your support by mentioning the whale friendly campaign agains whaling in the whale watching area.

Kind regards,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"minke whales"
in 247 reviews
"sea sickness"
in 121 reviews
"whale watching"
in 352 reviews
"white beaked dolphins"
in 88 reviews
"sea birds"
in 69 reviews
"killer whales"
in 26 reviews
"sick bags"
in 17 reviews
"warm suits"
in 49 reviews
"complimentary tickets"
in 23 reviews
"harbour porpoise"
in 22 reviews
"whale meat"
in 23 reviews
"pod of dolphins"
in 28 reviews
"great trip"
in 88 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 19 reviews
"top deck"
in 29 reviews
"marine life"
in 22 reviews
"boat trip"
in 47 reviews
Filter

1,205 - 1,209 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2014

We went with Elding on our trip on Friday 12th December and it was amazing. We were very lucky as the previous two days had been cancelled due to declining weather. We were not disappointed, it's well organised, you are supplied with a flotation suit, which we wore as would've frozen otherwise so wear it in inclement weather for sure. We were only on the boat for approx 45 mins & our guide had told us another Elding boat had spotted Orca's and then amazing!!!!!!! two orca's appeared and gave us a great show. We were all very humbled & chuffed. On approach back to the drop off point our guide then explained to us about conservation etc of these amazing mammals & to look out for & support whale friendly restaurants in Reykjavik and to purchase conscientiously. We felt these tour operators were amazing & respectful of the environment which we agree with, when they felt the whales had been seen enough we moved on. If going definitely go with Elding we would recommend

1  Thank boarder45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2014

Dear boarder45,

Thank you for joining our tour and sharing your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed the tour and the sighting of the orcas as well as our service on board.

Kind regards,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2014

Unfortunately we didn't get to see any Whales despite being out on the sea for a few hours. We went out on the 9th December 2014, the weather was very cold but that is to be expected in Iceland! There had been a storm the day before and another one on the way so the ocean was quite rough but they offered us all anti-sickness tablets for free when we checked in our tickets which was a really helpful touch and much appreciated! Even though we saw no whales or dolphins the boat ride was still enjoyable, the views were very pretty and the man leading the tour was full of interesting information about the whales and Iceland in general that was really nice added touch to the tour. We didn't have time to use our complimentary tickets to go out again but they last two years and I'm hopeful we will get to visit Iceland again and we can use them then! Overall, a worthwhile and interesting tour that I would highly recommend, just do make sure you take the anti-sickness tablet if offered to you because a lot of people didn't and they were rather ill during the journey!

1  Thank LilyBethCronin94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2014

Dear LilyBethCronin94,

Thank you for joining our tour and sharing your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed it despite the lack of whales and we sure hope to see you again with better wildlife success.

Kind regards,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2014 via mobile

We went on the whale watching trip and had an excellent afternoon!

The whale diary on the website helps to set your expectations as your can read what sitings have happened previously in the week.

We unfortunately didn't see any whales but saw numerous groups of Dolphins. The spotter was exceptional and was able to spot them all around the boat constantly - seemed like she had eyes in the back of her head to keep up! Her enthusiasm for seeing them was incredible and certainly made it more exciting for us on the boat!

The overalls they provide are definitely recommended and something that sets this company apart from the others. We saw another boat out and not many passengers were out on deck - presumably because it was too cold.
We were the overalls and also had thermals, jeans, jumpers and Barbour coats on underneath them and it was still pretty chilly!

Great company and great experience!

1  Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2014

Dear Charlotte J,

Thank you for joining our tour and sharing your experience. We're glad you enjoyed it as well as the service on board.

Kind regards,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2014 via mobile

after 3 hours on the boat, we saw nothing but felt freezing and sick. Though the staffs are helpful and we had a free ticket for next time.

Thank 依 谢
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2014

Dear 依 谢,

Thank you for joining our tour and sharing your experience. We are sorry the tour wasn't successful and we hope you can join us another time.

Kind regards,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elding Adventure at Sea also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Elding Adventure at Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;