We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better the second time”

Elding Adventure At Sea
Book In Advance
More Info
$102.00*
and up
Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik Old Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Elding is a tour supplier in Reykjavik offering whale watching and other adventures at sea all year round. We are conveniently located just off Reykjavik's old harbor. The various types of whales commonly sighted include minke whales, white-beaked dolphins, harbor porpoises and the popular humpback whales. We will be accompanied by sea birds such as gannets, puffins, guillemots, cormorants, gulls, kittiwakes, arctic terns, and many more. Check our online Whale Diary for daily updates on whale sightings. To make our tours even more comfortable, we provide our passengers with warm (and floatable) overalls and raincoats. For safety reasons, all children under 12 years of age are required to wear life jackets during the tour.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Better the second time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

These people know what they are doing and the guides are friendly and enthusiastic. If you see nothing, you get a complimentary ticket. Probably most people don't use theirs, but I did, and on the second trip had several good views of a minke whale, harbour porpoises and an early puffin or two, along with lots of other sea birds and some great views of the land. Highly recommended as long as you enjoy boat trips.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure At Sea, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Steve W,

Thank you very much for rating and reviewing our Whale Watching tour. We are really glad to hear that you got the chance to join the tour again, and of course that the success was better.

All the best from Iceland,
The Elding team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    881
    481
    179
    94
    64
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No whales today but enjoyable journey if you don't get seasick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Elding offer you a free sea sickness tablet if you want and I'm glad I took one. The seas had a large swell for part of the journey and I would have been sick without it. So take one if you are at all prone to sea sickness.
We didn't see any whales or dolphins but they give you a free voucher valid for 2 years when that happens.
There is commentary intermittently through the journey and the staff seem knowledgeable about whales.
It was less expensive than I was expecting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank enemy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure At Sea, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear enemy01,

Thank you very much for rating and reviewing our Whale Watching tour. We are glad to hear that you liked the motion sickness tablets, they can surly make the tour more bearable in rough weather.

We hope to see you get the chance to join our tour again ...hopefully in better weather!

All the best from Iceland,
The Elding team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went on a early sunday morning i oktober. it was fantastic. the guide had great knowledge and we had the oppertunity to see a lot of whales and dolphins.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank teres-notmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure At Sea, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear teres-notmyname,

Thank you very much for rating and reviewing our Winter Whale Watching tour. It makes us really happy to hear how much you enjoyed the tour and our service on board.

All the best from Iceland,
The Elding team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Guide, Great Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The reason for my excellent review is because on the day of my excursion I saw upwards of 8 different whales several times but I imagine if I spent 4-5 hours on a boat without any sightings I'd be extremely disgruntled. The tour guide was very informative and helpful though, but the nature of wildlife sightings are unpredictable so you have to be willing to dedicate the time to potentially being disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sascha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure At Sea, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Sascha,

Thank you very much for rating and reviewing our Whale Watching tour. It makes us really happy to read about your experience of the tour, well we suppose its hard not to like it when the wildlife puts on a show like that.

All the best from Iceland,
The Elding team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good service, but wildlife watching is hit and miss.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The service, staff, and boat trip itself were very good. The boat offers overalls that are also flotation devices for anyone who wants something warmer and safer (note that the boat itself felt very safe). There were also sea sickness pills available to anyone who wanted to take them, so that was a nice touch.

We only got to see a minke whale that we chased for most of the tour. Keep in mind that it can be difficult to spot wildlife, so it is very hit and miss. I was a bit disappointed that we did not get to see more, but it was still really neat to spot the whales. I would suggest going in the warmer months which seem to have better luck.

If you do go during the colder months, I would suggest that you grab a seat on the inside of the boat from the beginning. Sitting outside or upstairs may seem like the smart thing to do, but whale watching is more of a marathon than a sprint. When a whale is spotted, then you can head outside and it will likely re-surface again. This way you stay warm for most of the trip, but still catch all the action.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank displacedandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure At Sea, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear displacedandrew,

Thank you very much for rating and reviewing our Winter Whale Watching tour. It makes us really happy reading about your experience of the service we provide. We're gland you enjoyed the sighting of the minke whale but fully understand that you wanted to see something more. If it was up to us we'd see more whales, more species and more often but this is wildlife and we just have to enjoy what's available any given time.

All the best from Iceland,
The Elding team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elding Adventure At Sea also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Elding Adventure At Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing