We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Whale Watching”

Elding Adventure at Sea
Book In Advance
More Info
$102.00*
and up
Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Elding is a tour supplier in Reykjavik offering whale watching and other adventures at sea all year round. We are conveniently located just off Reykjavik's old harbor. The various types of whales commonly sighted include minke whales, white-beaked dolphins, harbor porpoises and the popular humpback whales. We will be accompanied by sea birds such as gannets, puffins, guillemots, cormorants, gulls, kittiwakes, arctic terns, and many more. Check our online Whale Diary for daily updates on whale sightings. To make our tours even more comfortable, we provide our passengers with warm (and floatable) overalls and raincoats. For safety reasons, all children under 12 years of age are required to wear life jackets during the tour.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We visited Iceland in March 2013. I think Elding is the only company that offers whale watching tours in the wintertime, and I was very encouraged by the fact that they post daily journals of what they've seen each day on their website, including stating if they did not see any dolphins or whales, or if they did not go out at all due to weather.

Several others here seem to have been on the same tour as we were, in which we were lucky enough to see two humpback whales, but nothing else. So, as far as seeing wild animals, I would say you have to gauge for yourself whether it's worth it to you to take the chance. However, I will say that I thought the service was excellent--Elding really does try their best to give you a nice experience, regardless of whether the animals put on a show for you or not.

They have a lower area of the boat with booths and windows and a snack bar where you can escape the cold if needed. Also, if you are experiencing seasickness (as a few folks were), it's a fairly calm place to put your head down on a table (they have plenty of bathrooms also!) I am sure it is more crowded in the summertime, but we had a nice experience overall.

2  Thank Brigid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Brigid F,

Thank you very much for rating and reviewing our Winter Whale Watching tour. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed the tour and the service we provide, your comments are really uplifting.

All the best from Iceland,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"minke whales"
in 243 reviews
"sea sickness"
in 121 reviews
"whale watching"
in 349 reviews
"white beaked dolphins"
in 88 reviews
"sea birds"
in 69 reviews
"killer whales"
in 26 reviews
"complimentary tickets"
in 23 reviews
"sick bags"
in 17 reviews
"warm suits"
in 47 reviews
"harbour porpoise"
in 22 reviews
"whale meat"
in 23 reviews
"rough seas"
in 28 reviews
"pod of dolphins"
in 28 reviews
"great trip"
in 88 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 19 reviews
"top deck"
in 29 reviews
"marine life"
in 22 reviews
Filter

1,581 - 1,585 of 2,022 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time! Saw humpback whales which was even a first for the Guide in training, who did an excellent job of keeping us informed of the orientations of sightings, and other wildlife close by.
The bus transportation to and from the harbour was excellent - very well organised.
Very happy customers!!!

Thank dreamer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dreamer30,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review our winter whale watching tour. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the sightings and our service.

All the best from Iceland,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were a little sceptical at doing the trip during the winter, but the brochure assured us that we had an 82.57% success rate during the winter season.

We did see whales, apparently 2 humpbacks, at their closest 50m away. We saw them for a split second maybe 6 times, during a ten minute window of the 3.5h trip. We saw them blow, and saw a very small portion of the back.

Personally, I wouldn't call that a success, but I am sure the company does.

I would have enjoyed more narratory (facts about the waters we were travelling, whales, depths, scientific projects in the area, etc) to help pass the time.

The staff and crew were friendly, and there were complimentary seasickness tablets and a loan of a survival suit (flotation/warming overall) for the trip.

Thank miriamgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear miriamgrant,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our Winter Whale Watching tour. We are sorry to hear that our tour didn't meet your expectations. Watching the whales in the wild you can never guarantee a particular sighting or activity, but we always aim at doing it on the whale's terms. Some days they are more active than other days and that is just the way it is.

All the best from Iceland,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I have always wanted to go whale watching so we decided why not while visiting Iceland. We decided to go with Elding b/c of all the reviews and they have a whale diary on their website; plus, they will port out of a different port if the weather is not ok to go out of Reykjavik. We were hoping to go out of Reykjavik, but the day we went was super windy so they put everyone on a bus & brought us near Grindivik (about 45 minutes away) and we boarded there. We knew it would be really cold out on the ocean in the winter so we were prepared and dressed appropriately, but thankfully they have overalls you can put on b/c after an hour we just couldn't take the freezing cold any longer & did not want to spend our time inside. The overalls are super warm, so I highly suggest putting some one......about 90% of our boat had them on! We didn't see anything until about 30 minutes before we had to head back. But we did see a humpback whale.....we only got about 20 yards from it, but still quite amazing to see! Its the wild, so when you see nature in action you can't complain! I would recommend this company b/c they were very nice, they have a whale museum you can walk through on a boat at the harbour for free before you depart, and they are actively doing research to help save these majestic giants!

Thank TravelOwl1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear TravelOwl1984,

Thank you very much for rating and reviewing our winter whale watching tour. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the tour and our service, and above all that you got to experience the majestic humpback whale in its natural habitat.

All the best from Iceland,
The Elding team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We went with Elding after reading reviews online. The biggest selling point for us was that they use two different ports to leave from. Meaning they are able to expose the weather and recent sightings a lot easier. On the day we went out we departed from the Keflavik area harbour because the weather conditions were calmer there. On our tour we saw a humpback whale which the boat followed for a while. So overall we were fortunate, especially as the previous 5 days had been cancelled due to foul weather. The facilities on the boat are good (toilets and a bar) and the staff are very friendly and very knowledgable.

Thank Lurch2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EldingReykjavik, Manager at Elding Adventure at Sea, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Lurch2k2,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review our winter whale watching tour. We are happy to hear that you appreciated our efforts to go from Keflavik, well it sure was worth it in your case.

All the best from Iceland,
The Elding team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elding Adventure at Sea also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Elding Adventure at Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing